Stone dom­i­nates down­hill race

The Leader (Nelson) - - WHAT’S ON - Mas­ters 1 Male Mas­ters 2 Male Open Fe­male Se­nior Male Un­der 11 Male Un­der 13 Male Un­der 15 Male Un­der 19 Male

The Marl­bor­ough Moun­tain Bike Club hosted the third round of the Top of the South Win­ter Down­hill MTB se­ries on its ‘Pukaka DH’ track at the week­end.

A strong turnout of rid­ers turned up to en­joy ex­cel­lent track con­di­tions that con­tin­ued to im­prove as the week­end went on.

Brady Stone in the Un­der 19 Male field was the fastest rider over­all on the day man­ag­ing to beat the se­nior men win­ner, Ce­lyn Edwards by a frac­tion of a sec­ond.

The Open Fe­male cat­e­gory was dom­i­nated by Nel­son rid­ers with only three sec­onds di­vid­ing the top three rid­ers.

Emma Ba­teup took the win, with Deanna Elvines and Amanda Pearce com­ing in close be­hind.

Oliver Elk­ing­ton had a con­vinc­ing win in the Un­der 17 Male cat­e­gory, as did Hamish Pow­ell in the Un­der 15s and Oli Clark in the Un­der 13s.

In the Mas­ters Male field, se­ries leader Hamish Ber­kett took the win, just man­ag­ing to hold on from lo­cal hero Fraser Brown in sec­ond place.

The next round is go­ing to be held this week­end in Nel­son on the phys­i­cal track Fringed Down Hill in the Brook Val­ley.

Hamish Ber­kett (3mins 51.70), Fraser Brown (3mins 54.12), Hay­den McKay (3mins 54.30).

Glenn Richard­son 34.69)


Emma Ba­teup (4mins 45.03), Deanna Elvines (4mins 46.84), Amanda Pearce (4mins 48.03).

Ce­lyn Edwards (3mins 33.41), Reuben Bense­mann (3mins 37.06), Peter Cooper (3mins 39.42). Lu­cas Mal­ham (4mins 59.39)

Oli Clark (4mins 21.75), Ben Szi­ranyi (4mins 50.10).

Hamish Pow­ell (4mins 04.21), Alex Way­man (4mins 10.23), Bryce Walker (4mins 20.35).

Oliver Elk­ing­ton 48.74), Jamie Bartlett 02.95), Hunter Sharp 04.41). (3mins (4mins (4mins

Brady Stone (3mins 33.19, Todd Balance (3mins 38.19), Tas­man De Leeuw (3mins 39.29).


Nel­son rider Hunter Chung was cool un­der pres­sure in the Un­der 19 men cat­e­gory.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.