Wood­man’s Ferns 7s on the short­list

The Northland Age - - Local Classified­s -

Far North ref­er­ences

Rugby World Cup Sevens cham­pi­ons and Com­mon­wealth Games Gold medal­lists, Por­tia Wood­man’s Black Ferns Sevens, along with the All Blacks Sevens, and the world No 1 ranked All Blacks, are all nom­i­nated for the New Zealand team of the year.

Else­where the Cru­saders, Auck­land and Thames Val­ley are short­listed for a new na­tional team of the year award, New Zealand Rugby an­nounced af­ter re­veal­ing the nom­i­na­tions for the 2018 ASB Rugby Awards.

Wood­man’s coach Al­lan Bunt­ing (Black Ferns Sevens) joins Steve Hansen (All Blacks), and Clark Laid­law (All Blacks Sevens) on the short­list for one of the coach of the year award cat­e­gories.

As well, Wood­man’s team­mates are up for a host of awards in a va­ri­ety of cat­e­gories on the night.

Also no­table is re­cent Far North ar­rival Aroha Sav­age as a nom­i­nee for the best women’s rugby player of the year award.

New Zealand Rugby (NZR) Chief Ex­ec­u­tive Steve Tew said 2018 had been an­other spe­cial year for rugby in pro­vid­ing the na­tion with mo­ments of pride and cause for cel­e­bra­tion with New Zealand teams in dom­i­nant form in the in­ter­na­tional arena.

“The All Blacks Sevens and Black Ferns Sevens are the first teams to win back to back Rugby World Cup Sevens ti­tles in ad­di­tion to gold at the Com­mon­wealth Games.

“The Black Ferns re­tained the Lau­rie O’Reilly Memo­rial Tro­phy, the Can­ter­bury women’s team se­cured back to back wins, along with the Cru­saders win­ning the In­vestec Su­per Rugby cham­pi­onship for a sec­ond year, Auck­land won the Mitre 10 Cup for the first time since 2007, and the All Blacks have se­cured every tro­phy they have con­tested this year.”

The judg­ing panel fea­tures Gra­ham Mourie, Matt Sex­ton, Mike Ea­gle, Dr Farah Palmer and Tony John­son.

The win­ners will be an­nounced at the 2018 ASB Rugby Awards, be­ing held at Auck­land’s Sky City Con­ven­tion Cen­tre on Thurs­day, De­cem­ber 13.

The event will be broad­cast on Sky Sport.

2018 ASB Rugby Awards nom­i­nees

Player of the year, Mitre 10 Heart­land Cham­pi­onship: Craig Clare (Wan­ganui), Brett Ranga (Thames Val­ley), Wil­lie Wright (South Can­ter­bury); age grade: Sam Darry (Can­ter­bury), Tom Christie (Can­ter­bury), Risaleaana Pouri-Lane (Tas­man), Kaleb Trask (Bay of Plenty); Su­per Rugby: Solomon Alaimalo (Chiefs), Richie Mo’unga (Cru­saders), Matt Todd (Cru­saders); Tom French Memo­rial for Ma¯ ori play­ers: Sarah Goss (Nga¯ ti Kahun­gunu), (Nga¯ puhi/ Te Wha¯ nau a¯ Apanui), Codie Tay­lor (Nga¯ ti Raukawa/ Muau¯ poko); Richard Craw­shaw Memo­rial, All Blacks Sevens: Scott Curry (Bay of Plenty), Vil­imoni Koroi (Otago), Re­gan Ware (Bay of Plenty); Black Ferns Sevens: Michaela Blyde (Bay of Plenty), Kelly Bra­zier (Bay of Plenty), S Goss (Manawatu); women’s: Ken­dra Cocksedge (Can­ter­bury), (Coun­ties Manukau), Sel­ica Wini­ata (Manawatu); Kelvin R Tre­main Memo­rial: K Cocksedge, R Mo’unga, Brodie Re­tal­lick (Hawke’s Bay), C Tay­lor (Can­ter­bury); Duane Monkley Medal: TJ Fa­iane (Auck­land), Luke Romano (Can­ter­bury), Fletcher Smith (Waikato); Fiao’o Faa­mausili Medal: K Cocksedge, Krys­ten Cot­trell (Hawke’s Bay), Jackie Patea-Fereti (Welling­ton).

COACH of the year, na­tional: Alama Ieremia (Auck­land), Kieran Kite (Can­ter­bury Women), Scott Robert­son (Cru­saders); in­ter­na­tional: Al­lan Bunt­ing (Black Ferns Sevens), Steve Hansen (All Blacks), Clark Laid­law (All Blacks Sevens).

TEAM of the year: Auck­land, Cru­saders, Thames Val­ley, New Zealand: All Blacks, All Blacks Sevens, Black Ferns Sevens.

Sky Tele­vi­sion fans’ try of the year fi­nal­ists: Kelly Bra­zier (Black Ferns Sevens), Chris Hala’ufia (St Peter’s Col­lege), Richie Mo’unga (Cru­saders); Ref­eree of the year: Glen Jack­son (BOP), Richard Kelly (Taranaki), Re­becca Ma­honey (Bush); Vol­un­teer of the year: Irene Eruera-Ta­iapa (Horowhenua Kapiti), Steve We­bling (Taranaki), Kim Wheeler (King Coun­try). Stein­lager Salver for out­stand­ing con­tri­bu­tion to rugby and NZRPA Kirk Award will be an­nounced on De­cem­ber 13 .

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.