The Northland Age

Halkyard-Harawira sworn in using self-written oath

Mayor’s sign-off signals official shift from a councillor-elect to a councillor


Far North District Council’s Hilda Halkyard-Harawira has been officially sworn as the 10th councillor on New Zealand’s northernmo­st territoria­l authority.

Halkyard-Harawira on Thursday used an official oath to make the declaratio­n, required under the Local Government Act, at a Far North District Council (FNDC) meeting in Kaikohe to officially become the organisati­on’s 10th councillor for the new 2022-2025 local government term.

Halkyard-Harawira used a document she had written herself to read out as her oath of office at FNDC’s October 27 official ceremony at the Kaikohe Memorial Hall.

FNDC meeting minutes from the livestream­ed ceremony said Halkyard-Harawira had on that occasion recited a declaratio­n at the ceremony that was legally invalid.

Halkyard-Harawira’s oath was taken and signed by Far North Kahika (mayor) Moko Tepania meaning she officially shifted from being a councillor-elect to a councillor.

Nine of FNDC’s 11 elected representa­tives were sworn in at the council’s official ceremony two weeks ago.

Halkyard-Harawira’s declaratio­n was one of two made at Thursday’s council meeting.

Mate Radich became the 11th and final sworn-in FNDC councillor for the next three years. He was not at October 27’s ceremony.

FNDC councillor­s are: Tepania Kahika (mayor), Kelly Stratford (Deputy Mayor), Ann Court, Felicity Foy, Halkyard-Harawira, Babe Kapa, Penetaui Kleskovic, Steve McNally, Radich, Tāmati Rakena and John Vujcich.

The meeting also documented the official October 20 swearing in of 19 community board members.

The three boards and their members are:

Bay of Islands-Whangaroa Community Board: (7 members) Belinda Ward (Paihia subdivisio­n) chairwoman, Lane Ayr (Kerikeri subdivisio­n) deputy chairman, Tyler Bamber (Waipapa subdivisio­n), Jane

Hindle (Russell-Opua subdivisio­n), Bruce Mills (Whangaroa subdivisio­n), Roddy Hapati Pihema (KawakawaMo­erewa subdivisio­n) and Amy Slack (Kerikeri subdivisio­n).

Kaikohe-Hokianga Community Board: (6 members) Chicky Rudkin (Kaikohe subdivisio­n) chairwoman, Tanya Filia (South Hokianga subdivisio­n) deputy chairwoman, Mike Edmonds (Kaikohe subdivisio­n),

Trinity Edwards (Kaikohe subdivisio­n), Harmonie Gundry (North Hokianga subdivisio­n) and Jessie McVeagh (South Hokianga subdivisio­n).

Te Hiku Community Board: (6 members) Sheryl Bainbridge (Doubtless Bay subdivisio­n) chairwoman, John Stewart (Kaita¯ ia subdivisio­n) deputy chairman, Darren Axe (North Cape subdivisio­n), Rachel Baucke (Kaita¯ ia subdivisio­n), Adele

Gardner (Kaita¯ ia subdivisio­n) and Bill Subritzky (Whatuwhiwh­i subdivisio­n).

Tepania said he wanted to strengthen community boards’ powers and had been looking around New Zealand for examples to assist with doing so.

Local Democracy Reporting is Public Interest Journalism funded

through NZ On Air

 ?? ??
 ?? Local Democracy Reporter ?? Susan Botting
Local Democracy Reporter Susan Botting

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand