Sevens to the fore

The TV Guide - - SPORTS -

Teams com­pet­ing in this sea­son’s World Rugby Sevens se­ries will have ex­tra in­cen­tive to per­form well.

The top four teams at the end of the se­ries will qual­ify au­to­mat­i­cally for the 2020 Sum­mer Olympics in Tokyo.

Re­mark­ably, New Zealand and Fiji have never fin­ished out­side the top four since the com­pe­ti­tion be­gan in the 1999-2000 sea­son.

New Zealand has won the se­ries 12 times (although their last win was in 2013-14) while Fiji has just three ti­tles to its name. (How­ever, Fiji won back-to-back crowns in 2014/15 and 2015/16).

South Africa, though,

has be­come a strong force in lat­ter years, win­ning the past two sevens se­ries.

Un­der coach Clark Laid­law, signs are emerg­ing that New Zealand is re­gain­ing some of its old magic af­ter Comon­wealth Games and World Cup tri­umphs. Now it is time for con­sis­tent suc­cess.

All Blacks Sevens cap­tain Scott Curry

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.