Daily Trust

Senate confirms 8 nominees for Supreme Court Justices

- By Abdullatee­f Salau

The Senate yesterday confirmed the nomination of eight Justices of the Court of Appeal for appointmen­t as Justices of the Supreme Court of Nigeria.

This was sequel to the considerat­ion of the report of the Senate Committee on Judiciary, Human Rights and Legal Matters, chaired by Senator Opeyemi Bamidele.

The nominees confirmed are: Justice M. Lawal Garba, JCA (NorthWest); Justice Helen M. Ogunwumiju, JCA (South-West); Justice Abdu Aboki, JCA (North-West); Justice I. M. M. Saulawa, JCA (North-West); Justice Adamu Jauro, JCA (North-East); Justice Samuel C. Oseji, JCA (South-South); Justice Tijjani Abubakar, JCA (NorthEast) and Justice Emmanuel A. Agim, JCA (South-South).

Bamidele, while presenting his committee’s report, said the appointmen­t of the nominees satisfied the requiremen­t of Sections 230 (2) and 231 (1) and (2) and (3) of the Constituti­on of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999 (as amended).

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Nigeria