Daily Trust

Adamawa, Taraba emerge Milo schools basketball Zonal Champions

- From Zahraddeen Yakubu Shuaibu, Kano

Taraba and Adamawa states’ girls and boys have emerged champions of the 23rd NestleMilo Secondary Schools Basketball zonal Championsh­ip which was held at the Indoor Sports Hall of Sani Abacha Stadium Kano.

Government Science Secondary School, Taraba state defeated Government Secondary School, Numan, Adamawa state 19-13 to lift the trophy in the girls category while Murtala Muhammad college Adamawa state defeated Dutse Model Internatio­nal Secondary School, Jigawa 39-24 to win the boys category.

Speaking at the closing ceremony, the Category Manager, Nestle Nigeria Plc, Olutayo Olutunji, said that his organisati­on was delighted to celebrate the 23rd edition in the 25th year of the championsh­ip.

He said that the championsh­ip was an opportunit­y for Nestle-Milo to continue to support grassroots sports developmen­t in Nigeria.

Funmilola Oyewole also explained that the competitio­n over the years provided that important platform for talented players in the sport to be discovered and nurtured to stardom.

According to him, the championsh­ip started with less than 500 schools in 1999 but it presently attracts over 10,000 schools annually.

“Today, we witnessed the final games to determine the champions in both the male and female categories in this Savannah Conference.

“These champions will then go on to represent the Savannah Conference at the National finals in Lagos from July 1 to July 8,” he explained.

Meanwhile, winners in both categories went home with a trophy and N200, 000 while the runners-up pocketed N150,000.

 ?? ??

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Nigeria