Qu­ramo Writ­ers’ Prize 2018 Un­veil Fi­nal­ists

The Guardian (Nigeria) - - LITERATURE - By Ifeoma Mordi

THE top five fi­nal­ists of the Qu­ramo Writ­ers’ Prize 2018 have been un­veiled, two weeks af­ter the top 10 fi­nal­ists were an­nounced.

The 2018 win­ner will be an­nounced at the award cer­e­mony sched­uled for Sun­day Oc­to­ber 21, 2018. The prize is awarded to an un­pub­lished fic­tion manuscript. Last year, Sa­muel Monye won with, Give Us Each Day.

The top five en­tries are, in al­pha­bet­i­cal or­der: Achalugo Ezekobe, Boys on Jump­ing Trousers; Ani Obia­maka Splen­dour, The Girl Who Saw

To­mor­row; Chioma Mil­dred Okonkwo, All That Glit­ters; Em­manuel Michael, Run­ning

Wa­ters and Ori­a­sotie Em­manuel Ehi­mare, When Yes­ter­day Saved To­mor­row.

The ex­ec­u­tive pub­lisher of Qu­ramo Pub­lish­ing, Mrs. Gbemi Sha­sore, said, “We are very thank­ful to our judges, led by the amaz­ing Aduke Gomez, for their painstak­ing work in pick­ing our top five en­tries. We look for­ward to crown­ing a win­ner on Sun­day Oc­to­ber 21 and to pub- licly pre­sent­ing Give Us

Each Day, the de­but novel from Sa­muel Monye (QWP 2017 win­ner).”

In ad­di­tion to Ms Gomez, the other judges for the Qu­ramo Writer’s Prize 2018 in­clude, Kunle Ka­sumu, Ed­ify Yakusak, Ego Boyo and Kay­ode Ko­foworola. For more in­for­ma­tion about the Qu­ramo Writ­ers’ Prize 2018 or if you would like to at­tend the award cer­e­mony on Oc­to­ber 21, 2018, email info@qu­ramo.com.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Nigeria

© PressReader. All rights reserved.