The Nation (Nigeria)

Seven panel members disown #ENDSARS report submitted to Oyetola


SEVEN members of the panel of inquiry set up by the Osun State Government to investigat­e police brutality and extra-judicial killing has disowned alleged recommenda­tions submitted to Governor Adegboyega Oyetola.

A letter of a petition signed by seven members of the panel namely, Dr. Wasiu Oyedokun, Abayomi Ogundele, Abdulrahma­n Okunade, Comrade Ayo Ologun, Comrade Oluwasegun Idowu, Comrade Ismail Abdulazeez From Toba Adedeji, Osogbo and Comrade Teslim Salahudeen dated July 15, was obtained by The Nation.

The letter titled “Notice of Inconclusi­veness of Resolution­s of the State of Osun Panel of Inquiry on Police Brutality”, reads: “We, the undersigne­d, are constraine­d to, by this means, inform Your Excellency that, till date, the Osun State Panel of Inquiry on Police Brutality, of which we are members, has not concluded works on its proposed recommenda­tions.

“This notice to Your Excellency is informed by the informatio­n we had, to the effect, that a copy of a purported report of the panel’s works has been submitted to Your Excellency.

“We wish to state unequivoca­lly that, if the informatio­n is true, the purported report did not emanate from the panel, as we did not conclude upon any report and indeed did not append our signatures to any.”

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Nigeria