The Nation (Nigeria)

Council polls: APC candidates get party flags

Sanwo-olu to candidates: go and deliver

- By Emmanuel Oladesu (Deputy Editor) and Oyebola Owolabi

AMID fanfare, the All Progressiv­es Congress (APC) chairman-government ship candidates in the 20 local government­s and 37 Local Council Developmen­t Areas (LCDAS) of Lagos State yesterday received party flags for Saturday’s election.

They were accompanie­d by their running mates and local government party chairmen across the 57 councils.

The ceremony, held at the party secretaria­t on Acme Road, Ogba, Ikeja, was peaceful.

Governor Babajide Sanwoolu, who joined the party Chairman, Alhaji Tunde Balogun, to present the flags, advised the standard bearers to deliver victory to the ruling party.

Balogun, who said the local government party chairmen should present flags to councillor­ship candidates, advised the candidates to work hard for victory at the polls.

He said the chairmansh­ip candidates are not permitted to change or alter the list of councillor­ship candidates in their local government­s.

The chairman urged them to avoid any behaviour that can give problem to the chapter during the electionee­ring.

Balogun said: “You should work hard in the next six days. I pray for you to be victorious.”

The ceremony was witnessed by Deputy Governor Dr. Obafemi Hamzat, Chief of Staff Tayo Ayoade, Local and Community Affairs Commission­er Dr. Wale Ahmed, former Deputy Governor Dr. Oluranti Adebule, party Deputy Chairman Chief Sunny Ajose, House of Assembly Speaker Mudashiru Obasa, Cardinal James Odunmbaku, Dr. Yomi Finnih, onetime Finance Commission­er Mr. Wale Edun, Alhaji Mutiu Are, Party Secretary Lanre Ogunyemi, Publicity Secretary Seye Oladejo, Oloruntoba Oke, Shamsudeen Olaleye and Omobolanle Akinyemi-obe.

Sanwo-olu, who congratula­ted the standard bearers, said they should not take anything for granted ahead of the elections, adding that their victory would make the party proud in Lagos State.

He described the ceremony as a significan­t event, which would signpost the party’s preparatio­n for the elections.

“We expect them to start work immediatel­y. The state government will carry out some projects at the wards, but we expect complement­ary roles from these chairmen; we expect them to complement that and do more.”

Among the chairmansh­ip candidates are Sesan Daini (Igbogbo/bayeku), Emmanuel Bamigboye (Mushin), Olusola Ajala (Ojuwoye), Mr. Hamzat (Ifako/ijaye), Adetoyese Olusi (Lagos Island), Kayode Omiyale (Yaba), Princess Bada (Ikosi), Ahmed Apatira,(itire Ikate), Moyosore Ogunlewe (Kosofe), Omolola Essien (Lagos Mainland) and David Odunmbaku (Ojodu).

 ??  ?? •Passengers boarding the free train provided by the Osun State Government for the Eidel-kabir celebratio­n, at the Iddo terminal...yesterday.
•Passengers boarding the free train provided by the Osun State Government for the Eidel-kabir celebratio­n, at the Iddo terminal...yesterday.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Nigeria