The Punch

Only Nigeria, Ghana, 16 other african countries obeyed treatment guidelines, says WHO


The World Health Organisati­on has said nigeria, ghana, Angola, Mali and 14 other African countries complied with its recommenda­tion to include corticoste­roids in their national treatment guidelines in COVID-19 treatment while nine others included unapproved medication­s.

Online sources identified corticoste­roids as man-made drugs that closely resemble cortisol, a hormone that one’s adrenal glands produce naturally.

The WHO Regional Director for Africa, Dr Matshidiso Moeti, stated on Thursday during a virtual press conference that in a WHO survey to which 30 African countries responded, only 18 countries had included corticoste­roids in their national treatment guidelines, as recommende­d by the internatio­nal health agency.

He added that nine countries were including medication­s not recommende­d by the organisati­on in treating COVID-19, such as hydroxychl­oroquine and lopinavir.

In email exchanges with our correspond­ent on Friday, the Sub-pillar Lead for Case Management, WHO Regional Office for Africa, Dr John Appiah Adabie, said the 30 countries who responded to the survey were Algeria, Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Cote d’ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eritrea, gabon, ghana, guinea, guinea-bissau and Kenya.

Others were Madagascar, Mali, Mauritius, Mozambique, namibia, niger, nigeria, Rwanda, Seychelles, South Africa, South Sudan, United Republic of Tanzania and Zambia.

He noted that the 18 countries who complied with the organisati­on’s recommenda­tion included Angola, Algeria, CAR, Chad, Congo, Eritrea, ghana, guinea, guinea Bissau, Madagascar, Mali, Mauritius, Mozambique, namibia, nigeria, Rwanda, Seychelles, South Africa.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Nigeria