GTBank-Lagos Principals Cup Season 9 Begins June 6


The preliminar­ies of the 2018 GTBank-Lagos Principals Cup Season 9 competitio­n will kick off on June 6 in four different venues- Dairy Farm Senior Secondary School, Agege, King’s College, Lagos Island, St Finbarr’s College, Akoka and Ansar-Ud-Deen College, Isolo. The winners and runners up from each group will progress to the quarter final stage of the competitio­n.

This much was revealed at the draws held at the corporate head office of Guaranty Trust Bank on Thursday.

According to the draws, last year’s winner, Ijaiye Housing Estate Senior Grammar School, Ijaiye, was drawn in Group B alongside Egan Senior Grammar School, Alimosho, Estate Senior Grammar School, Mushin and Ilado Community High School, Ikoyi.

The season began on April 17, with zonal preliminar­ies which featured 594 teams from 335 schools in the male and female categories.

The competitio­n is open to schools from the six educationa­l districts in Lagos State. A total of 586 matches were played during the zonal preliminar­ies with 1,448 goals scored. Thirty Two of these teams – 16 each from the two categories qualified to take part in Thursday’s draws.

Over the years, the GTBank-Lagos State Principals Cup has propelled the profession­al careers of several talented and now renowned players like Stephen Odey – who recently won the Swiss Cup with FC Zurich.

Odey captained his alma mata Dairy Farm Senior Secondary School, Agege to victory in the 2012 edition of the competitio­n, Esther Adeboye, one of the Most Valuable Players in the 2014 competitio­n from State High School, Alimosho was part of the National Female U-17 Team, The Flamingoes which represente­d Nigeria at the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Nigeria