State Coun­cil holds first ses­sion of new term

Muscat Daily - - NATION -

Mus­cat - Upon the Royal Di­rec­tive of His Majesty Sul­tan Qa­boos bin Said, the State Coun­cil held its first ses­sion of its first an­nual sit­ting of the sev­enth pe­riod (2019-23) on Thurs­day, un­der its chair­man Dr Yahya bin Mah­foudh al Man­theri.

In his wel­come ad­dress, Dr Man­theri said, “Wel­come to the State Coun­cil, which His Majesty the Sul­tan wanted it to be an­other strong build­ing block in the struc­ture of Omani so­ci­ety, to re­in­force the achieve­ments al­ready ac­com­plished and con­firm­ing the set prin­ci­ples. It in­cludes the es­tab­lish­ment of valid foun­da­tions to con­sol­i­date the pil­lars of the Shura march, stem­ming from the her­itage of the na­tion and its val­ues and Is­lamic law, proud of the his­tory, tak­ing ad­van­tage of the meth­ods of the time and tools.”

He said that the sixth pe­riod of the coun­cil saw 54 ple­nary ses­sions dis­cussing more than 25 draft laws re­ferred by the Coun­cil of Min­is­ters and Ma­jlis A’Shura, in ad­di­tion to re­view­ing and ap­prov­ing nearly 30 is­sues and stud­ies deal­ing with the var­i­ous eco­nomic, so­cial and cul­tural as­pects of the sul­tanate, in ad­di­tion to other ac­tiv­i­ties.

Dr Man­theri added, “We wit­nessed re­cently the suc­cess of the 9th pe­riod elec­tions of Ma­jlis A’Shura, prais­ing the good or­gan­i­sa­tion of the elec­tions and the good be­hav­iour of the vot­ers. We con­grat­u­late the mem­bers of Ma­jlis A'Shura for ob­tain­ing the trust of their con­stituents, wish­ing them suc­cess in their fu­ture na­tional and com­mu­nity tasks.”

In this re­gard, he stressed the co­op­er­a­tion and in­te­gra­tion of the State Coun­cil with Ma­jlis A’Shura within the Coun­cil of Oman to meet the ob­jec­tives of the coun­cil and the as­pi­ra­tions of His Majesty the Sul­tan. “The sul­tanate cel­e­brates the an­niver­sary of our 49th Glo­ri­ous Na­tional Day. On this oc­ca­sion, I am hon­oured on be­half of all of you and on be­half of the em­ploy­ees of the State Coun­cil to ex­tend warm­est con­grat­u­la­tions to His Majesty the Sul­tan, pray­ing to Al­lah the Almighty to grant him good health, hap­pi­ness and a long life and the Omani peo­ple with progress and pros­per­ity un­der his pros­per­ous reign.”

Dr Khalid bin Salim al Saeedi, Sec­re­tary Gen­eral of the State Coun­cil re­viewed the re­quire­ments of the ses­sion, which in­clude a num­ber of pro­ce­dures.

After that, the mem­bers took the le­gal oath stated in Ar­ti­cle (58) re­peated (20) of the Ba­sic Law of the State. The coun­cil then pro­ceeded to elect the two deputy chair­per­sons in ac­cor­dance with Ar­ti­cle (58) re­peated (4) of the State’s Ba­sic Statute.

Elec­tion of deputy chair­per­sons

The State Coun­cil chair­man an­nounced the elec­tion for the post of deputy chair­per­sons.

Five mem­bers sub­mit­ted their nom­i­na­tions for the posts.

They were Hon Sheikh Dr Al Khat­tab bin Ghalib al Hi­nai, Hon Sayyid Dr Said bin Sul­tan al Bu­saidi, Hon Dr Badriah bint Ibrahim al She­hiyah, Hon Sheikh Man­sour bin Harith al A’mri and Hon Dr Juma bin Khal­ifa al Bu­saidi.

The coun­cil elected the fol­low­ing through di­rect se­cret bal­lot: Dr Badriah bint Ibrahim al She­hiyah (58) votes and Dr Al Khat­tab bin Ghalib al Hi­nai by a ma­jor­ity of (46) votes as two deputies of the new ses­sion of the State Coun­cil.

After that, the chair­man an­nounced the can­di­dacy for the elec­tion of four mem­bers of the of­fice of the coun­cil.

Thir­teen mem­bers sub­mit­ted their can­di­da­cies to the coun­cil’s of­fice, namely: Hon Dr Said bin Sul­tan al Bu­saidi, Hon Dr Saeed bin Mubarak al Mahrmi, Hon Lu­ji­nah bint Mohsen al Za’abiyah, Hon Ha­tim bin Ha­mad al Taie, Hon Dr Raya bint Salim al Man­theriyah, Hon Dr Ab­dul­lah bin Mubarak al Shan­fari, Hon Salim bin Najm al Ghailani, Hon Yaqoub bin Yousuf bin Ab­dul­lah al Kamsheki, Hon Dr Ahmed bin Ali al Amri, Hon Sheikh Ali bin Nas­sir al Mahrouqi, Hon Ha­mad bin Su­laiman bin Ha­mad al Ghraibi, Hon Dr Mohammed bin Ha­mad al Shuaili and Hon Dr Da­wood bin Salim al Ham­dani.

The coun­cil elected Hon Dr Said bin Mubarak al Mahrmi, Hon Dr Raya bint Salim al Man­theriyah, Hon Lu­ji­nah bint Mohsen al Za’abiyah and Hon Ha­tim bin Ha­mad al Ta’ee as mem­bers of the of­fice for the sev­enth pe­riod.

Dr Yahya bin Mah­foudh al Man­theri (cen­tre) ad­dresses the mem­bers on the open­ing day of the sev­enth pe­riod (2019-23)

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Oman

© PressReader. All rights reserved.