Split for­mat

Muscat Daily - - SPORTS -

The 2020 Copa Amer­ica marks the first time in the mod­ern his­tory of the tour­na­ment that the event is be­ing co-hosted.

Ar­gentina and Colom­bia were cho­sen as hosts af­ter

South Amer­i­can foot­ball's gov­ern­ing body CON­MEBOL turned down an of­fer from the United States Soc­cer Fed­er­a­tion to hold an ex­panded 16-team edi­tion.

The 2020 tour­na­ment will also see a change in for­mat.

Next year, the tour­na­ment will in­stead see two first round groups of six teams. The top four fin­ish­ers in each group will qual­ify for the quar­ter­fi­nals.

Tour­na­ment co-hosts Ar­gentina will kick off the tour­na­ment against bit­ter ri­vals Chile on June 12 in Buenos Aires.

Aus­tralia will open its tour­na­ment against Uruguay on June 13.

Qatar, mean­while, which fin­ished bot­tom of their group at this year's Copa Amer­ica to exit in the first round, will open its tour­na­ment against Peru on June 14. The June 12-July 12 tour­na­ment is the 47th edi­tion of the Copa Amer­ica, the old­est in­ter­na­tional com­pe­ti­tion in world foot­ball.

Group A: Ar­gentina, Aus­tralia, Bo­livia, Uruguay, Chile, Paraguay.

Group B: Colom­bia, Brazil, Qatar, Venezuela, Ecuador, Peru.


For­mer Brazil­ian star Jun­inho Paulista presents the tro­phy on the stage dur­ing the draw of the Copa Amer­ica 2020 on Tues­day

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Oman

© PressReader. All rights reserved.