Fa­jardo, Slaugh­ter lead SAC bas­ket­ball awardees

Cebu Daily News - - SPORTS - /POOLED RE­PORT

FOR­MER col­lege ri­vals and cur­rent PBA stars June Mar Fa­jardo and Greg Slaugh­ter lead bas­ket­ball’s awardees this year in the 36th SAC-SMB Sports Awards which will be held at the Robin­sons Gal­le­ria Cebu Atrium on March 26.

Fa­jardo, the for­mer Univer­sity of Cebu star who won his fourth MVP last year, is this year’s lone ma­jor awardee for bas­ket­ball for his rare feat in the pro league. Fa- jardo was also the Ath­lete of the Year in 2017 af­ter he won his third straight MVP the year be­fore.

On the other hand, fel­low big man Greg Slaugh­ter, who played for the Univer­sity of the Visayas be­fore trans­fer­ring to Ate­neo de Cebu, will re­ceive a ci­ta­tion for win­ning the Best Player of the Con­fer­ence ti­tle dur­ing the Gover­nors’ Cup last year.

Roger Po­goy, an­other Ce­buano star in the PBA who was named Rookie of the Year last year, will also re­ceive a ci­ta­tion for mak­ing it to Gi­las Pilip­inas.

“Aside from hon­or­ing those who lifted Cebu sports last year, the SAC-SMB Sports Awards is also the chance for Ce­buano fans to meet their idols. So we are invit­ing them to take ad­van­tage of this rare chance that the best of Cebu sports are in one set­ting,” said out­go­ing SAC pres­i­dent Mike T. Lim­pag.

The Univer­sity of the Visayas col­lege and high school teams will also re­ceive ci­ta­tions for win­ning the Cebu Schools Ath­letic Foun­da­tion Inc., ti­tles, along with Beirn Lau­rente and Jay­bie Man­tilla, who were named MVPs.

Other bas­ket­ball per­son­al­i­ties who will re­ceive ci­ta­tions are Rein­hard Ju­mamoy, Chinn­sai De­m­ana and Jed Ca­bel­lon, who was named the Jr. NBA Coach of the Year.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Philippines

© PressReader. All rights reserved.