Manila Bulletin



The Foundation for Liberty and Prosperity (FLP) awarded recently the winners and finalists of its 2017-2018 Dissertati­on Writing Contest and 21 scholars under its 2017-2018 Legal Scholarshi­p Program at the Ateneo Profession­al Schools Auditorium in Rockwell Center, Makati City.

Acting Chief Justice Antonio T. Carpio commended all the awardees as “future legal warriors of the Philippine­s who will defend our national territory and maritime zones, not in the mountains, skies or high seas, but in the courtrooms at The Hague and Hamburg.”

The awards to the dissertati­on winners and finalists were presented by Retired Chief Justice Artemio V. Panganiban, Senior Justice Presbitero J. Velasco, Jr. (the chairperso­n of the Board of Judges), and Atty. Solomon M. Hermosura, Managing Director and General Counsel of Ayala Corporatio­n, which donated the cash prizes.

Raphael Lorenzo A. Pangalanga­n, a graduate student of the Oxford University and the University of the Philippine­s, was awarded first prize — with a plaque of recognitio­n and 1320,000 cash. Tess Marie Tan, a senior law student of the University of San Carlos in Cebu City, received a plaque of recognitio­n and 1220,000 cash for placing second.

Retired Chief Justice Artemio V. Panganiban, Acting Chief Justice Antonio T. Carpio, and Ms. Elizabeth T. Alba of the Tan Yan Kee Foundation, which donated the cash prizes, officiated the awarding of the scholars.

 ??  ??

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Philippines