The Manila Times

GMA to grace ‘Ani ng Dan­gal’


PRES­I­DENT Glo­ria Ar­royo is set to honor Filipino artists and groups who have won gold medals and cham­pi­onships in in­ter­na­tional com­pe­ti­tions from Novem­ber 2008 to Novem­ber 2009, in the Na­tional Com­mis­sion for Cul­ture and the Art’s ( NCCA) sec­ond “Ani ng Dan­gal” awards which will be held at the Mala­cañan Palace’s Rizal Hall to­day at 1: 30 p. m.

This year, 41 awardees – 12 in mu­sic, nine in film, seven in mul­ti­dis­ci­plinary arts, six in vis­ual arts, four in dance, and two in lit­er­ary arts – will be given the pres­ti­gious ac­co­lade for their ex­em­plary per­for­mances, and for up­hold­ing Filipino artis­tic ex­cel­lence in the in­ter­na­tional stage.

No­table awardees in­clude Bril­lante Men­doza ( 62nd Cannes Film Fes­ti­val– Best Di­rec­tor for Ki­natay), Pepe Dio­kno ( 66th Venice In­ter­na­tional Film Fes­ti­val– Lion of the Fu­ture Luigi De Lau­ren­tiis Awardee for a De­but Film, and Oriz­zonti Award Best Film for Engk­wen­tro), Gina Pareño ( 3rd Asian Film Awards– Best Sup­port­ing Ac­tress for Ser­bis), and Rhap Salazar ( 13th World Cham­pi­onships of Per­form­ing Arts – Grand Cham­pion Per­former of the World, and Cham­pion, Vo­cal – Ju­nior Divi­sion).

Awardees for dance are: Am­pli­fied Hip-Hop Dance Group, Halili-Cruz School of Bal­let, Rhosam Pru­den­ci­ado, Que­zon City Bal­let and the Uni­ver­sity

of San Agustin Kaw­ili­han Dance Troupe. Martin, For film: Bril­lante Teresa Men­doza, Bar­rozo, Pepe Gina Dio­kno, Pareño, Raya Fran­cis Xavier Sanchez Pa­sion, and Alvin Mark Ya­pan. Reyes, Sherad An­thony

Abdon For lit­er­ary Balde Jr. arts: Gemino Abad and

For mu­sic: Ad­ven­tist Uni­ver­sity of the Philip­pines Young Voices, Ritchie Asi­bal, the Calasiao Chil­dren’s Cho­rus, Capi­tol Uni­ver­sity Glee Club, Man­daue Chil­dren’s Choir, Novo Con­cer­nante Mobb­starr: Dice and K9, Rhap Salazar, Bev­erly Clau­dine Shangkuan, Uni­ver­sity of Santo To­mas Singers, Uni­ver­sity of the Visayas Cho­rale and the Young Voices of Ne­gros.

For mul­ti­dis­ci­plinary arts: Imelda Abano, ABSCBN Broad­cast­ing Inc., ABS-CBN Foun­da­tion Inc., Ayala Group of Malls, GMA Net­work Inc., Mary Anne Therese Manu­son and QTV11 En­ter­tain­ment

And fi­nally, for vis­ual arts: Ra­mon Castillo, Ernesto Dul-Ang, Er­win Lim, Prudencio DengCoy Miel, Nikki Sandino Vic­to­ri­ano and Jophel Ybiosa.

“Ani ng Dan­gal” is organized by the NCCA through its chair­man, Ed­u­ca­tion Un­der­sec­re­tary Vilma Labrador, and NCCA Ex­ec­u­tive Di­rec­tor and PA on Cul­ture Ce­cile Guidote Al­varez. The award­ing is in line with the cel­e­bra­tion of the Na­tional Arts Month this Fe­bru­ary, as per

Pres­i­den­tial Procla­ma­tion 683 of 1991.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Philippines