Sun Star Bacolod

Sugar producers group welcomes 2 new member-planters groups


THE Confederat­ion of Sugar Producers Associatio­n Inc. (Confed), the largest planters federation in the country, has welcomed two new member-planters associatio­ns for crop year 2022 to 2023.

The two new associatio­ns affiliated with Confed are Southern Negros-based Planter’s Associatio­n of Southern Negros Inc. (Pason) headed by its Chairman Emeritus Franklin Fuentebell­a, Robert Bernard Tan as chairman and Engineer Luis Garingalao as president; and Northern Negros-based United Cadiz Sugarcane Planters Associatio­n Inc. (Ucspa) headed by Clarita Lilia “Claire” Lacson.

“We warmly welcome the two new members who joined Confed at the start of my term as federation president,” Confed president Aurelio “Bodie” Valderrama said.

He added “this manifests our openness towards all industry stakeholde­rs, in line with our call for unity among all diverse stakeholde­rs in the sugar industry.”

Upon assumption as Confed national president last September at the start of the current milling season, Valderrama advocated for unity in the industry, stressthat “only the collaborat­ive and focused efforts of all stakeholde­rs can address the decades-long, myriad and recurring problems of the sugar industry.”

The largest planters associatio­n in the Biscom Milling District in Southern Negros, Pason is actually a former member of Confed. The group, however, chose to become an unaffiliat­ed associatio­n several years back.

Ucspa, on the other hand, is one of the oldest associatio­ns in Northern Negros.

Other Pason officers are Dr. Agripino Randy Ravina III - vice president; Alejo Manuel Trabasas – treasurer; Marco Antonio Ibañez – secretary; Nonito Villaluna - assistant secretary; and Mary Joyce Javellana, Zea Mae Sales and Cesar Dominador Villafranc­a – directors.

The officers of Ucspa, meanwhile, are Alessandro Lacson – secretary; Michael Lindly Monfort – treasurer; and Anthony Francis Consing, Claire Therese Consing, Marissa R. Lacson and Jaime Luis Trebol as directors.

 ?? CONTRIBUTE­D PHOTO ?? CONFED national president Aurelio “Bodie” Valderrama
CONTRIBUTE­D PHOTO CONFED national president Aurelio “Bodie” Valderrama

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Philippines