Sun Star Bacolod

Australian Mileham, PH’S Burgos win Asia Duathlon titles


AUSTRALIAN Samuel Mileham topped the men’s elite category of the 2023 Asia Triathlon Duathlon Championsh­ips at New Clark City Sports Complex here Sunday.

The 25-year-old native of Perth finished the 10K (run)-40k (bike)-5k (run) race in 1 hour, 53 minutes and 7 seconds.

“I’m lucky to be given the opportunit­y to join this competitio­n and I’m happy I won,” said the 6-foot-1 Mileham, who finished second behind Uzbekistan’s Ayan Beisenbaye­v during the 2022 edition of the tournament in Bahrain.

Bahrain’s Moussa Karich settled for the silver medal with a time of 1:54:49, improving on his fourth-place finish last year.

“This is my first tournament after my injury so I’m satisfied with my performanc­e,” Karich said, referring to her previous back problem.

Mileham and Karich are setting their sights on the 2024 World Triathlon Multisport Championsh­ip scheduled Aug. 15 to 25 in Townsville, a coastal city in northeaste­rn Queensland, Australia.

“Yes, it would be nice to win again,” Mileham, a duathlete for 13 years now, said.

Mileham’s teammate, Matt Smith, grabbed the bronze medal in 1:55:19.

Cambodian Mickael Chaumond (1:55:37) and Japanese Fumiya Tanaka (1:55:47), ranked fourth and fifth, respective­ly.

Philippine team members Raymund Torio and John Chicano also made it to the top 10 of the tournament organized by the Triathlon Philippine­s (Triphil) headed by Ramon Marchan.

Torio (1:56:05) placed sixth, while the two-time Southeast Asian Games champion Chicano (1:56:46) was 10th among 22 entries.

“I’m glad because God gave me the chance to be the No. 1 Filipino finisher in this race,” said the 35-year-old Torio, who was born and raised in Lingayen, Pangasinan.

Seyed Mohammad Hosseini (Iran) clocked 1:56:30 for seventh place, Saud Alzaabi (United Arab Emirates) was eighth in 1:56:36, and Edward Langdon (Australia) ninth in 1:56:37.

Meanwhile, the Philippine­s had a 1-2 finish in the women’s elite category.

Erika Burgos bagged the gold medal in 2:17:48 while Merry Joy Trupa took the silver in 2:18:55.

Indonesian­s Maharani Azhri Wahyuningt­yas (2:21:30), Zahra Bulan (2:23:28), and Eva Desiana (2:24:25) placed third, fourth, and fifth, respective­ly.

Iranian Hadis Nasr Azadani (2:36:48) was sixth and Filipino Bea Quiambao (2:40:04) was seventh.*(pna)*

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Philippines