7 new na­tional artists re­ceive awards

Sun Star Bacolod - - Top Stories -

SEVEN artists were feted Wednes­day, Oc­to­ber 24, dur­ing the con­fer­ment rites of this year’s Na­tional Artist Awards led by Pres­i­dent Ro­drigo Duterte at Mala­cañan Palace.

The new batch of Na­tional Artists is com­posed of Ce­buano writer-scholar Re­sil Mo­jares and Hili­gaynon writer Ra­mon Mu­zones (lit­er­a­ture), com­poser Ryan Cayabyab (mu­sic), ar­chi­tect Fran­cisco Mañosa (ar­chi­tec­ture), film­maker Eric “Kid­lat Tahimik” de Guia (film), drama­tist-pup­peteer Ameial Lapeña-boni­fa­cio (theater), and car­toon­ist Lauro Al­cala (vis­ual arts).

“To this year’s awardees, I laud you for the pas­sion and ded­i­ca­tion to your cho­sen craft,” Duterte said in a key­note speech.

“In to­day’s fast-paced, highly-tech­no­log­i­cal ad modern world, it is im­per­a­tive to do our part in pre­serv­ing and pro­mot­ing our homegrown tal­ent,” he added.

The Na­tional Artist Award, cre­ated through Procla­ma­tion 1001 is­sued on April 27,1972, is the high­est na­tional recog­ni­tion given to Filipinos who have made sig­nif­i­cant and out­stand­ing con­tri­bu­tions to the de­vel­op­ment of Phil- ip­pine arts, namely mu­sic, dance, theater, vis­ual arts, lit­er­a­ture, film, broad­cast arts, and ar­chi­tec­ture and al­lied arts.

Renowned pain­ter Fer­nando Amor­solo was the first re­cip­i­ent of Na­tional Artist for Lit­er­a­ture Award in 1972.

The award is jointly ad­min­is­tered by the Na­tional Com­mis­sion for Cul­ture and the Arts (NCCA) and the Cul­tural Cen­ter of the Philip­pines, and con­ferred by the Philip­pine gov­ern­ment upon rec­om­men­da­tion by both in­sti­tu­tions.

To date, there are a to­tal of 78 na­tional artists, in­clud­ing those newly pro­claimed.

Ev­ery na­tional artist re­ceives gold-plated medal­lion and ci­ta­tion; P200,000 net of taxes; a monthly life pen­sion worth P50,000; med­i­cal and hos­pi­tal ben­e­fits worth P750,000 ev­ery year; life in­sur­ance cov­er­age; a place of honor in state func­tions and ar­range­ments for and ex­penses of state fu­neral, ac­cord­ing to the guide­lines ap­proved by the NCCA board in April 2017.

A one-time cash award of P150,000, net of taxes, would be given to the de­ceased awardees.

The Pres­i­dent also con­ferred Gawad sa Manlilikha ng Bayan or Na­tional Liv­ing Trea­sure Award on Yakan weaver Am­balang Ausalin from Lami­tan, Basi­lan; B’laan mat weaver Estelita Ban­ti­lan from Malun­gon, Sarangani; and B’laan ikat-weaver Yabing Masa­lon-dulo from Polomok, South Cota­bato.

Gawad sa Manlilikha ng Bayan or the Na­tional Liv­ing Trea­sures Award is the high­est Pres­i­den­tial recog­ni­tion given to in­di­vid­u­als who ex­cel in var­i­ous in­dife­nous arts, cus­toms, and tra­di­tional prac­tices.

The three weavers were cho­sen based on the ex­cel­lence of their crafts and their abil­ity to trans­fer the skills in their vary­ing medi­ums to younger mem­bers of their com­mu­ni­ties.

Also hon­ored were Rizal Park Ho­tel (Adap­tive Re­use Awardee), lo­cal gov­ern­ment of San Nico­las, Ilo­cos Norte (Her­itage Ed­u­ca­tion and In­ter­pre­ta­tion Awardee), lo­cal gov­ern­ment of An­ge­les City (Her­itage Pro­gram Sup­port Awardee), and lo­cal gov­ern­ment of Ma­galang, Pam­panga (Safe­guard­ing In­tan­gi­ble Cul­tural Her­itage Awardee)./suns­tar Philip­pines

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Philippines

© PressReader. All rights reserved.