YES! (Philippines) - - Stargazing -

Eight dis­tin­guished alumni of the Univer­sity of the Philip­pines Col­lege of Mass Com­mu­ni­ca­tions (UPCMC, aka UP Mass­com) were hon­ored dur­ing the first-ever Glory Awards cer­e­mony.

The con­fer­ment of the awards, which honor the legacy of Dr. Glo­ria D. Feli­ciano, UP Mass­com’s first dean, was the high­light of the an­nual alumni homecoming and grand re­union of the col­lege.

The eight re­cip­i­ents of the Glory Awards were Marissa Flores, GMA Net­work se­nior vice-pres­i­dent for news and pub­lic af­fairs (for broad­cast jour­nal­ism); Joel David, film scholar, critic, and ed­u­ca­tor (for film re­search and crit­i­cism); Roby Alam­pay, Busi­nessWorld editor in chief (awardee for print and on­line jour­nal­ism); Lau­ren Dyogi, ABS-CBN en­ter­tain­ment pro­duc­tion divi­sion head (for tele­vi­sion arts); Sari Dalena, film­maker and UP Film In­sti­tute di­rec­tor (for film); Joy Buen­salido, head of the PR firm Buen­salido & As­so­ci­ates (for pub­lic re­la­tions); Raul Cas­tro, McCann World­group Philip­pines chair­man and chief ex­ec­u­tive of­fi­cer (for mar­ket­ing com­mu­ni­ca­tions); and Lil­ian S. “Lan” Mer­cado, Ox­fam Asian re­gional di­rec­tor (for so­cial ad­vo­cacy).

Malou Choa-Fa­gar, pres­i­dent of the UPCMC Alumni As­so­ci­a­tion (UPCMCAA), said that the awardees “brought not only honor and pres­tige to the col­lege but also in­spi­ra­tion to col­leagues in var­i­ous fields of com­mu­ni­ca­tion.”

The first batch of Glory awardees posed for pos­ter­ity with the of­fi­cers of UP, UPCMC, and UPCMCAA: (L-R) Lau­ren Dyogi; Raul Cas­tro; Roby Alam­pay; Lan Mer­cado; Dr. Elena Per­nia, dean of the UP Col­lege of Mass Com­mu­ni­ca­tions; Atty. Danilo Con­cep­cion, UP...

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Philippines

© PressReader. All rights reserved.