Oh­tani among rookie fi­nal­ists for MLB awards

Gulf Times Sport - - SPORT -

Los An­ge­les Angels twoway player Sho­hei Oh­tani is one of three fi­nal­ists for Amer­i­can League Rookie of the Year hon­ours, the Base­ball Writ­ers’ As­so­ci­a­tion of Amer­ica an­nounced on Mon­day.

Oh­tani bat­ted .285 with 22 homers and 61 RBIs as a hit­ter and went 4-2 with a 3.31 ERA in 10 starts. The other two fi­nal­ists are both in­field­ers for the New York Yan­kees — Miguel An­du­jar (.297 aver­age, 27 homers, 92 RBIs) and Gley­ber Tor­res (.27124-77).

The Na­tional League fi­nal­ists for Rookie of the Year are out­fielder Ron­ald Acuna Jr. of the At­lanta Braves, right-han­der Walker Buehler of the Los An­ge­les Dodgers and out­fielder Juan Soto of the Wash­ing­ton Na­tion­als.

The win­ners for the award named af­ter Jackie Robinson will be an­nounced on Nov. 12.

Out­fielder Mookie Betts of the Bos­ton Red Sox is one of the three fi­nal­ists for AL MVP honors. Betts led the Amer­i­can League with a .346 aver­age and had 32 homers and 30 stolen bases.

Third base­man Jose Ramirez of the Cleve­land In­di­ans and cen­ter fielder Mike Trout of the Los An­ge­les Angels are the other fi­nal­ists.

Bat­ting cham­pion Chris­tian Yelich (.326) of the Mil­wau­kee Brew­ers is one of three fi­nal­ists for NL MVP honors. The oth­ers are Colorado Rock­ies third base­man Nolan Are­nado and Chicago Cubs in­fielder Javier Baez.

The MVP win­ners will be an­nounced on Nov. 15.

Wash­ing­ton Na­tion­als ace Max Scherzer (300 strike­outs) is among three right-handed fi­nal­ists for the NL Cy Young Award. Scherzer is look­ing to win for the third straight sea­son and fourth time over­all, his first com­ing in the AL with the Detroit Tigers in 2013.

Ja­cob deGrom (MLB-lead­ing 1.70 ERA) of the New York Mets) and Aaron Nola of the Philadel­phia Phillies are the other fi­nal­ists.

Tampa Bay Rays left-han­der Blake Snell led the ma­jors with 21 wins and is one of the fi­nal­ists for AL Cy Young hon­ours. Corey Klu­ber of the Cleve­land In­di­ans — who won for the sec­ond time last year — and Hous­ton Astros’ ace Justin Ver­lan­der (who won in 2011) are the other fi­nal­ists.

The Cy Young win­ner will be un­veiled on Nov. 14.

Alex Cora of the Bos­ton Red Sox is one of three fi­nal­ists for the AL Man­ager of the Year award. Kevin Cash of the Tampa Bay Rays and Bob Melvin of the Oak­land Ath­let­ics are the other fi­nal­ists.

The NL fi­nal­ists are Bud Black of the Colorado Rock­ies, Craig Coun­sell of the Mil­wau­kee Brew­ers and Brian Snitker of the At­lanta Braves.

The win­ning man­agers will be an­nounced Tues­day.

All of the award win­ners will be re­vealed on the MLB Net­work.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Qatar

© PressReader. All rights reserved.