Fly­ers mas­ter the tur­bu­lence in some heavy go­ing

Rade­meyer of Bush­man’s River takes first place

Daily Dispatch - - Classified/sport -

Read­ers of these rac­ing pi­geon re­ports will be only too aware of the in­flu­ence ex­erted on the out­come of races by the weather con­di­tions pre­vail­ing on raceday.

This was ev­i­dent yet again when the first ever na­tional race, un­der the aus­pices of the SA Na­tional Pi­geon Or­gan­i­sa­tion (Sanpo) was flown from Prieska a few weeks ago.

Pi­geons from fanciers from

118 km/h speeds posted in Cen­tral Zone

around SA were lib­er­ated in the North­ern Cape to make their way home to lofts as far afield as Ge­orge and Mos­sel Bay in the south and Polok­wane in the north, com­pet­ing for the hon­ours in the three zones into which the fanciers had been di­vided for the event – a South­ern Zone in­clud­ing flight des­ti­na­tions from Clan­william through to PE, a Cen­tral Zone ex­tend­ing from north­east of PE through to Richards Bay and a North­ern Zone en­com­pass­ing ar­eas north­east of Richards Bay

200 Po­si­tions in race taken by lo­cal fliers

to Polok­wane.

Pi­geons from the Eastern Cape and Bor­der lofts found the go­ing much to their lik­ing with lo­cal lofts sweep­ing the boards in the over­all, com­bined re­sult, cour­tesy of fresh to strong north-westerly winds.

Win­ning lofts in ar­eas to the North and in­land saw their zone win­ners reg­is­ter fly­ing speeds in the re­gion of 60-70 km/h, while the cen­tral zone posted over 118km/h.

The hon­our of win­ning the first ever na­tional race went to the ECPF’s Jean Rade­meyer of Bush­man’s River. Run­ner-up in this pres­ti­gious event was Rade­meyer’s Kowie com­pa­triot, Boeta Pi­eterse, of the Sky Tur­tle Loft.

In third spot was a bird flown by Alan Weimann and Stu­art San­ders of the North­ern Fly­ing Club. RE­SULTS: PRIESKA – FI­NAL: 1. J Rade­meyer (ECPF )- 118,3; 2. Sky Tur­tle Loft (ECPF) – 117,9; 3. Weimann & San­ders (NFC) – 115,96; 4. Drie Dui­we­boere (AFC) – 115,75; 5. D Rus­sel (NFC) – 115,71; 6 Drie Dui­we­boere (AFC) -115,68; 7. D Hartwig (NFC) 115,66; 8. D Rus­sel (NFC) -115,63; 9. D Rus­sel (NFC) – 115,62; 10. Weimann & San­ders (NFC) – 115,60.

KEY: AFC – Ab­bots­ford Fly­ing Club; ECPF – East Cape Pi­geon Fed­er­a­tion; NFC – EL North­ern Fly­ing Club..

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from South Africa

© PressReader. All rights reserved.