Isn’t all wine ve­gan?

Eat Out - - THE NOMINEES -

There’s only one part of the wine mak­ing process that isn’t al­ways ve­gan.

The low-down

There’s just a small part of the wine-mak­ing process that makes wine ve­gan (or not).

The pick­ing, press­ing and fer­men­ta­tion of grapes are usu­ally con­sid­ered to be ve­gan-friendly. There’s just one part of the process called ‘fin­ing’ that some­times uses an­i­mal prod­ucts.

‘Fin­ing’ is a tech­nique used to re­move im­pu­ri­ties from the wine, mak­ing it clear and more sta­ble. Bear with us, this is a lit­tle tech­ni­cal. Tra­di­tion­ally, egg whites, gela­tine or a milk de­riv­a­tive is added to the wine.

This bonds with sol­u­ble im­pu­ri­ties (ones you can’t fil­ter out) like tan­nins, pro­teins and phe­nols. The fin­ing agent is then re­moved from the wine, along with the im­pu­ri­ties.

Ve­gan wine is made in one of two ways, either with a ve­gan-friendly fin­ing agent like clay, or by leav­ing the wine to ma­ture a lit­tle longer and avoid­ing fin­ing al­to­gether.

Does ve­gan wine taste dif­fer­ent?

We can’t speak for all wine­mak­ers but we can tell you our range of or­ganic, ve­gan-friendly wines is award-win­ning. They’re also fairly traded ac­cord­ing to Fair for Life reg­u­la­tions. We even have a range of or­ganic reds with no added sul­phur.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from South Africa

© PressReader. All rights reserved.