And the win­ner of the Comic ’ s Choice is...

Sowetan - - NEWS - Zenoyise John

THE Comic’s Choice Awards 2012 rocked the Teatro at Mon­te­Casino in north­ern Johannesburg with the largest gath­er­ing of the com­edy in­dus­try un­der one roof in the city on Tues­day night.

Now in their sec­ond year, the awards have grown in stature to be­come an an­nual fix­ture on the coun­try’s com­edy cal­en­dar.

The event has ac­tu­ally be­come the place to see South Africa’s up-and-com­ing co­me­di­ans per­form along­side some of the finest es­tab­lished acts on cir­cuit.

The well-or­gan­ised show in­cluded ap­pear­ances by es­tab­lished co­me­di­ans like Casper de Vries, Dave Levin­sohn, Mark Banks, Robert White­head and fas­tris­ing Mpho “Popps ” Modikoane.

No speeches were al­lowed dur­ing the show. Some of the win­ners had the ap­pre­cia­tive crowd in stitches with their jokes.

One of the evening’s fun­ni­est mo­ments was when a naked man played the pi­ano on stage.

The night was summed up with an af­ter party at Parker’s Com­edy & Jive, where Kaya FM DJs treated guests to some funky mu­sic.

Here is a list of co­me­di­ans who won top hon­ours:

The Times Comic’s Pen Award was won by Alyn Adams who com­peted with heavy­weights, Kag­iso Lediga, Loy­iso Gola and Vit­to­rio Leonardi.

The Au­di­ence’s Choice Award went to Si­fiso Nene who beat es­tab­lished and well-known nom­i­nees Trevor Noah, Eddie Eck­stein and Deep Fried Man.

All was not lost for Noah, who is known for de­liv­er­ing show-stop­ping ma­te­rial, as he scooped the Comic of the Year Award. Noah beat funny men Riaad Moosa, Nik Rabinowitz and Loy­iso Gola, who all went home empty-handed this year.

Dil­lan Oliphant took the New­comer Award. He beat Ja­son Go­liath, Dono­van Go­liath and Monique Nortjé.

The Black­Berry Break­through Act Award went to Tats Nkonzo.

This as­sured comedian, whose ma­te­rial is orig­i­nal and very funny, com­peted against Deep Fried Man, Robby Collins and Mpho “Popps ” Modikoane.

The Life­time Achiever Award went to Joe Parker.

TOP DOG: Tats Nkonzo re­ceived the Black­Berry Break­through Act Award at the 2012 Comic ’ s Choice Awards 2012.


AP­PRE­CI­ATED: Si­fiso Nene won the Au­di­ence Choice Award at the Comic ’ s Choice Awards on Tues­day.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from South Africa

© PressReader. All rights reserved.