Quirky Facts

Sunday Times - - Sport Cricket/soccer -

First IPL game

Took place in Bengaluru be­tween the Royal Chal­lengers Ban­ga­lore and the Kolkata Knight Rid­ers.

First IPL ton

Was scored by KKR’s Bren­don McCul­lum (158*) in the same game. KKR won by 140 runs.

First IPL win­ners

Were the Ra­jasthan Roy­als, who beat the Chen­nai Su­per Kings. The Roy­als lost their first IPL game against the Delhi Dare­dev­ils.

2009 IPL win­ner

The Dec­can Charg­ers, who won the SA-hosted 2009 edi­tion, folded in 2012 af­ter fi­nan­cial dif­fi­cul­ties.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from South Africa

© PressReader. All rights reserved.