The Citizen (Gauteng)
WhatsApp talks tough
In January, the messaging giant wanted to roll out new terms, which included changes to how it collected and shared user data. A global backlash from users saw the Facebook-owned platform back down.
Now, they are at it again and have given users a significant ultimatum: accept or you will not have full access to the platform.
If users do not accept by 15 May, WhatsApp said on its website:
Users will not be able to access chats. You will still be able to read messages if you have notifications enables on your phone, but you will not be able to respond.
Users will be able to answer incoming voice calls, but the tech giant was mum on the ability to make calls.
After a few weeks, you will no longer be able to receive calls or notifications of new messages.
WhatsApp said it would not delete a user’s account if they did not accept. But you will not be able to send messages.
The tech giant said the update to the terms was mostly focused on how businesses and their customers interact on the messaging platform. “We are also providing more information about how we collect, share, and use data,” it added. “Our commitment to your privacy isn’t changing. Personal conversations are still protected by end-to-end encryption.”
The application requires certain information from users to provide certain functionality.
For example, if you wish to share your location with contacts, the app needs to be able to access location services.