2030 World Cup has many suit­ors

The Citizen (KZN) - - SPORT - San­ti­ago

– Ar­gentina, Chile, Paraguay and Uruguay are to sub­mit a joint bid to host the 2030 World Cup, it was an­nounced on Thurs­day.

Ar­gentina, Paraguay and Uruguay had al­ready sub­mit­ted a joint bid to host the cen­te­nary edi­tion of the tour­na­ment, but those coun­tries’ pres­i­dents had agreed to Chile’s par­tic­i­pa­tion in the “joint can­di­dacy”.

The bid faces com­pe­ti­tion from Morocco, Bri­tain and Ire­land and an­other by a coali­tion of Greece, Ser­bia, Bul­garia and Ro­ma­nia. – AFP

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from South Africa

© PressReader. All rights reserved.