Warner wins Bor­der Medal

The Citizen (KZN) - - Sport -

Syd­ney – David Warner’s bid to re­deem him­self af­ter a dam­ag­ing ball-tam­per­ing scan­dal has taken an­other step for­ward with the open­ing bats­man win­ning Aus­tralia’s high­est crick­et­ing hon­our.

The di­vi­sive 33-year-old has been awarded the Al­lan Bor­der Medal for the third time, pip­ping Steve Smith by one vote, who was also in­volved in the at­tempt to al­ter the ball us­ing sand­pa­per dur­ing a South Africa Test in 2018.

Pat Cum­mins, the ICC Test Player- of-the-Year, came third in an award voted on by fel­low play­ers, the me­dia and um­pires.

“When it is that close, you re­ally don’t know so it’s a big sur­prise to be hon­est,” an emo­tional Warner (above) said at the cer­e­mony late on Mon­day.

“I had no doubt that I had the ca­pa­bil­i­ties of com­ing back and be­ing here again.

“It was a lot of hard work and com­mit­ment to put my hand back up for se­lec­tion, and to go away and do what I know best which is to try and score as many runs as I can in any com­pe­ti­tion I’m play­ing in,” added Warner, who also won the award in 2016 and 2017.

Warner and Smith were both slapped with one-year bans for their roles in the ball-tam­per­ing scan­dal, while Cameron Ban­croft was given nine months.

Smith was the star of their re­ten­tion of the Ashes in Eng­land last year, a se­ries where Warner failed to fire, scor­ing just 95 runs in 10 in­nings.

But the opener was Aus­tralia’s best bats­man at the one-day World Cup, with 647 runs at an av­er­age of 71.88, and ex­celled in Twenty20 se­ries against Pak­istan and Sri Lanka.

He then took apart Pak­istan’s young bowl­ing at­tack in the twoTest se­ries that fol­lowed, in­clud­ing a ca­reer-high 335 not out in Ade­laide.

Warner joins a se­lect club of mul­ti­ple win­ners, in­clud­ing Ricky Ponting (2004, 2006, 2007) and Michael Clarke (2005, 2012, 2013). Shane Wat­son (2010, 2011) and Smith (2015, 2018) have won it twice.

All­rounder Ell­yse Perry joined Warner as a three-times win­ner by claim­ing her third Belinda Clark Award as the out­stand­ing women’s player. – AFP

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from South Africa

© PressReader. All rights reserved.