The Citizen (KZN)

Who will gallop off with top award?


- Mike Moon

Racing journalist­s to pick the best in various categories in Equus Awards.

Which galloper will be named horse of the year at the Equus Awards this weekend? The colt, Hawwaam, winner of two Grade 1 races in the 20192020 season and currently in the export pipeline, is probably favourite to land the honour, though Rainbow Bridge has a similar record for the term and presents a strong case.

Valiant filly Summer Pudding, wearing her Triple Tiara, could sweep it away from under the noses of the boys.

Equus Awards might not mean a whole lot to the average punter, but they are a big thing in the lives of South African thoroughbr­ed breeders, in particular.

A controvers­ial decision to do away with the 2020 champion stayer category will, therefore, be a major production disincenti­ve.

The Equus moment is not the usual banquet bash and is instead a TV show on Tellytrack, channel 249 on DStv, at 7.30pm on Sunday.

Stalwart racing presenters Neil Andrews and Nico Kritsiotis have the job of whipping up an expectant atmosphere for viewers at home.

The winners in each category will be chosen by a panel of five racing journalist­s: Alistair Cohen, Andrew Harrison, Jack

Milner, Ken Nicol and David Thiselton.

The pandemic saw the seasonal equine awards deadline postponed from 1 August to 1 September.

The Horse of the Year will be selected from among the winners.

Awards will also be conferred on the champion stallion (Silvano), the champion breeder (Klawervlei Stud) and the champion broodmare (Halfway To Heaven).

The Thoroughbr­ed Breeders Associatio­n will, in addition, honour an “outstandin­g South African breeder”.

Individual awards will go to the Champion Jockey (Warren Kennedy), the Champion Trainer (Sean Tarry), the Champion Apprentice (Luke Ferraris) and the Champion Owner (Chris van Niekerk).

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from South Africa