The Citizen (KZN)

IPL final is awarded to Chennai


New Delhi – The Indian Premier League final will be played on 26 May in Chennai, the cricket board said on Monday, releasing the full schedule of the hugely lucrative T20 tournament.

The IPL, which began on 22 March in Chennai, will end five days ahead of the T20 World Cup in the West Indies and United States, starting on 1 June.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) had initially released only the first two weeks of the IPL schedule, because it clashes with India’s six-week-long gerneral election.

Ahmedabad’s Narendra Modi Stadium will host Qualifier 1 and the Eliminator on 21 and 22 May, followed by Qualifier 2 on 24 May.

The final on 26 May will be held in the southern Indian city of Chennai.

Voting in India’s marathon elections begin on 19 April, with results expected on 4 June.

Defending champions Chennai Super Kings began their campaign with a win at their home M.A. Chidambara­m Stadium against Royal Challenger­s Berngaluru in the opener.

Owing to the tournament clashing with elections, a few teams will have their home bases shifted to different venues.

Punjab Kings, who started their season at the new stadium in Mullanpur, will culminate their home campaign in the Himalayan hill town of Dharamsala, according to BCCI.

Rajasthan Royals opted for a second venue in Guwahati, and will play their final two home matches in Assam.

Delhi Capitals will play all their remaining five home matches in at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in New Delhi, with their first two home matches in Visakhapat­nam.

The tournament has grown into the world’s richest cricket league since its innaugural season in 2008. –

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from South Africa