The Citizen (KZN)

Eight venues for World Cup

- Jacques van der Westhuyzen

The 2027 Cricket World Cup in South Africa will be played at eight venues, including the big five regular Test grounds – the Wanderers in Johannesbu­rg, SuperSport Park in Centurion, Newlands in Cape Town, Kingsmead in Durban and St George’s Park in Gqeberha.

This has been confirmed to Saturday Citizen by Cricket South Africa, though neither CSA or the Internatio­nal Cricket Council (ICC) have any official word on the venues.

The three other grounds in that will host matches are the Mangaung Oval in Bloemfonte­in, Boland Park in Paarl and Buffalo Park in East London.

The grounds to miss out are Benoni, Potchefstr­oom and Kimberley, though they hosted matches in 2003 when South Africa last hosted the 50-overs Cricket World Cup.

On that occasion South Africa were eliminated in the early stages of the competitio­n after misreading the Duckworth-Lewis-Stern calculatio­n.

Australia went on to win the title in the final at the Wanderers.

Matches at the 2027 World Cup will also be staged in Zimbabwe and Namibia, though there are no details about the venues to be used in these South African neighbouri­ng countries.

It is likely Harare and Bulawayo in Zimbabwe and Windhoek or Walvis Bay in Namibia will host group matches.

According to a report on Netwerk24, the eight venues in South Africa to host matches were picked because of their proximity to an airport and the availabili­ty of hotel rooms.

The tournament is scheduled for October and November 2027.

South Africa were awarded the rights to host the 2027 World Cup in 2021 by the ICC.

The next big limited overs World Cup takes place in June this year when the United States and the West Indies jointly host the men’s T20 World Cup. In February next year Pakistan will host the Champions Trophy and in 2026, India and Sri Lanka will host the T20 World Cup.

Following South Africa’s hosting of the 50 overs tournament in 2027, Australia and New Zealand will host the 2028 T20 World Cup.

A year later India will host the Champions Trophy.

In 2030 England, Scotland and Ireland will jointly host the T20 World Cup while India and Bangladesh will host the 50-overs World Cup in 2031.

 ?? ??

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from South Africa