P-word again causes up­roar at Car of Year

The Witness - Wheels - - MOTORING - ALWYN VILJOEN

THE Porsche Panam­era has been crowned as the 2018 SA Car of the Year (Coty) and once again the P-word is caus­ing an up­roar among gear heads and other car en­thu­si­asts.

The main gripe petrol heads have with the 2018 Coty is af­ford­abil­ity. The Panam­era starts sell­ing at R1 361 000.

The sec­ond gripe is that this is the fourth Porsche to win the cov­eted ti­tle in six years.

The South African Guild of Mo­tor­ing Jour­nal­ist (SAGMJ) re­minded that the Car of the Year award is driven pri­mar­ily by how much a spe­cific model de­ploys avail­able tech­nol­ogy and in­no­vates new tech­nol­ogy.

A jury com­pris­ing 26 of SA’s most ex­pe­ri­enced car writ­ers all voted for three mod­els, and two thirds in­cluded the Panam­era in their three fi­nal­ists in this year’s ad­ju­di­ca­tion. For ex­am­ple, Ja­nine van der Post at Wheels24, one of the jury mem­bers, voted as her top three se­lec­tions: the Kia Pi­canto, Suzuki Ig­nis and Porsche Panam­era.

SAGMJ chair­man Bernard Hell­berg Jr said 2018 was a par­tic­u­larly dif­fi­cult year for the jury be­cause of the re­mark­ably high stan­dard of the fi­nal­ists.

“The 2018 Coty fi­nal­ists pre­sented a mas­sive chal­lenge for us, and none of the 26 jurors could con­fi­dently pre­dict the out­come af­ter the eval­u­a­tion days that were held at the end of Jan­uary.”

Other fre­quent win­ners

BMW has won the SA Car Of The Year ti­tle a record six times (1988, 1990, 1993, 1997, 2001 and 2011).

Audi and Volk­swa­gen have both won the SA Car Of The Year ti­tle three times, with Honda, Re­nault, Toy­ota and Volvo tak­ing the crown twice.

Alfa Romeo, Ford, Hyundai, Mazda, Mercedes-Benz, and Nis­san have won the ti­tle once each.

Opel is the only man­u­fac­turer which has won the SA Car Of The Year ti­tle for two con­sec­u­tive years, and has ul­ti­mately won the com­pe­ti­tion four times.

Porsche is the only man­u­fac­turer to win the ti­tle for three con­sec­u­tive years, and has won the com­pe­ti­tion four times.

All the SA Coty win­ners:

1986 Toy­ota Corolla Twin Cam 1987 Mercedes-Benz 260E 1988 BMW 735i 1989 Toy­ota Corolla GLi Ex­ec­u­tive 1990 BMW 525i 1991 Opel Monza 160 GSi 1992 Nis­san Max­ima 300 SE 1993 BMW 316i 1994 Opel Kadett 140 1995 Opel As­tra 160iS 1996 Audi A4 1.8 1997 BMW 528i 1998 Ford Fi­esta Fun 1999 Alfa Romeo 156 T-Spark 2000 Re­nault Clio 1.4 RT 2001 BMW 320d 2002 Audi A4 1.9 TDI 2003 Volk­swa­gen Polo TDI 2004 Re­nault Mé­gane 1.9 dCi 2005 Volvo S40 2.4i 2006 Audi A3 Sport­back 2.0T 2007 Honda Civic 1.8 VXi Sedan 2008 Mazda2 1.5 In­di­vid­ual 2009 Honda Ac­cord 2.4 Ex­ec­u­tive 2010 Volk­swa­gen Golf 6 1.4 TSI 2011 BMW 530d and Volk­swa­gen Polo 1.6 TDI 2012 Hyundai Elantra 1.8 GLS Ex­ec­u­tive 2013 Porsche Boxster 2014 Porsche Cay­man S 2015 Porsche Ma­can Diesel S 2016 Volvo XC90 2017 Opel As­tra 2018 Porsche Panam­era


The Panam­era is the fourth Porsche to win a Car of the Year award in SA since 2013.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from South Africa

© PressReader. All rights reserved.