Daily Mirror (Sri Lanka)

Thi­lak Weeras­inghe elected new SLAITO Pres­i­dent

- Travel · Sri Lanka · Mahinda Rajapaksa · Columbus · Tours · Golden · Lanka Sportreizen · Aitken Spence

Lanka Sportreize­n Ltd. Chair­man Thi­lak Weeras­inghe was elected as the new Pres­i­dent of the Sri Lanka As­so­ci­a­tion of In­bound Tour Op­er­a­tors (SLAITO) at its 40th An­nual Gen­eral Meet­ing held on Tues­day, 29 Septem­ber at the Ra­mada Colombo.

The Chief Guest of the cer­e­mony was Prime Min­is­ter Mahinda Ra­japaksa. The Guest of Hon­our was Min­is­ter of Tourism Prasanna Ranatunga whilst the Min­is­ter of Sports Na­mal Ra­japaksa, State Min­is­ter of Avi­a­tion D.V. Chanaka and State Min­is­ter of Money and Cap­i­tal Mar­ket and State En­ter­prise Re­forms Ajith Ni­vard Cabraal par­tic­i­pated as Spe­cial Guests. Apart from Weeras­inghe’s elec­tion as Pres­i­dent for the year 2020/2021 pe­riod, Way­far­ers Ltd.

CEO Nishad Wi­je­tunga, and Aber­crom­bie and Kent Man­ag­ing Di­rec­tor Gayangi Wi­ras­inha were elected as Vice Pres­i­dents, Aitken Spence Trav­els Ltd. Man­ag­ing Di­rec­tor Nalin Jaya­sun­dera was elected as the Sec­re­tary and Colum­bus Tours Ltd. Man­ag­ing Di­rec­tor Bobby Jor­den Hansen was elected as the Trea­surer. Fol­low­ing per­sons were elected to the Ex­ec­u­tive Com­mit­tee of SLAITO for the pe­riod of 2020/2021: Con­nais­sance de Cey­lan Chair­man Chan­dra Wick­re­mas­inghe, NKAR Trav­els and Tours Ltd. Man­ag­ing Di­rec­tor Nilmin Nanayakkar­a, Golden Isle Trav­els Ltd. Man­ag­ing Di­rec­tor Joyce Pad­mini Paul, Hawk Trav­els Ltd. Man­ag­ing Di­rec­tor

Ro­han Abey­wick­rema, House of Trav­els and Tourism Ltd. Man­ag­ing Di­rec­tor Nalin A. Mal­wenna, Jour­neyscapes Ltd. Man­ag­ing Di­rec­tor Devin­dre Se­naratne, Tan­ger­ine Tours Ltd. Gen­eral Man­ager Charith De Al­wis, Walk­ers Tours Ltd. Des­ti­na­tion Man­age­ment CEO Nalaka Amaratunga, Cey­lon Tours Ltd. Man­ag­ing Di­rec­tor Suren­dra Ediri­weera,

Jetwing Trav­els Ltd. Deputy Gen­eral Man­ager Ban­dula Withana, and An­drew the Travel Com­pany Ltd. Man­ag­ing Di­rec­tor Ma­hen Kariyawasa­m as the Im­me­di­ate Past Pres­i­dent.

SLAITO was for­mally known as As­so­ci­a­tion of Group Tour Agents (AGTA) and was es­tab­lished in 1975. In 2002, AGTA was re­con­sti­tuted as SLAITO. SLAITO is recog­nised as the APEX body for in­bound tourism and the mem­ber­ship han­dles 90% of all in­bound tourists in the or­gan­ised tourism sec­tor. At present, the SLAITO has a mem­ber­ship of 250. SLAITO plays an in­te­gral role in all im­por­tant pri­vate sec­tor de­ci­sion­mak­ing fo­rums and is af­fil­i­ated to the Cey­lon Cham­ber of Com­merce.

 ?? New SLAITO Team ??

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Sri Lanka