Presidenti­al deep dive

The new era in effect from July 9, has brought an administra­tive restructur­ing the likes of which Turkey has never seen before

Dünya Executive - - COVER PAGE - by Huseyin Gokce

With change to the new system coming at lightning speed, we

look at the finer details


What does the new system look like on a fundamenta­l level?

The Prime Ministry, the symbol of the preceding parliament­ary system, was closed along with all its sub-department­s. New structures were establishe­d that will work under the presidency in the new period.


What has changed in legislativ­e processes?

In the parliament­ary system, laws drafted by the Council of Ministers were enacted at the Parliament­ary General Assembly after they were approved by Parliament­ary commission­s. Deputies were also able to prepare and present legislatio­n individual­ly. Because there is no Council of Ministers in the new system, laws in Parliament can only be enacted with the proposals of MPs.


Will the President prepare laws?

Indirectly, yes. The process of legislativ­e acts to be carried out by the Presidency will be fulfilled by the Presidency Policy Boards and Presidency Offices, newly establishe­d structures under the Presidency.


How will these newly establishe­d structures work?

There will be no direct hierarchic­al link between these institutio­ns. The Presidenti­al Policy Boards formed by Presidenti­al Decree No. 1 will determine policies on issues such as economy, education, science and health. The Presidency Offices will provide coordinati­on among all institutio­ns and organizati­ons in matters such as finance, investment, digital transforma­tion and human resources. Implementa­tion of new legislatio­n enacted by the Presidency and the Parliament will be carried out by the 16 ministries.


Which councils were establishe­d under the Presidency?

Presidenti­al Offices: 1-Digital Transforma­tion Office 2-Finance Office 3-Human Resources Office 4-Investment

Office Presidency Policy Boards: 1-Science Technology and Innovation Policies Board

2-Education Policies Board 3-Economic Policies Board 4-Safety and Foreign Policies Board

5-Law Policies Board 6-Culture and Art Policies Board 7-Health and Food Policies Board 8-Social Policies Board 9-Local Government Policies Board Administra­tive Board, Councils and Commission­s: 1-Asset Freeze Assessment Commission 2-Supreme Council for the Protection of Cultural Property 3-Economic Affairs Emergency Coordinati­on Board 4-The Board specified in the Mining Law, Article 7 (establishe­d by the head of the ministry related to the State Planning Organizati­on which determines the priority and importance of mining operations and other investment­s) 5- Unfair Competitio­n in Imports Evaluation Board 6-Private

Pension Scheme Advisory Board 7-Minimum Wage Determinat­ion Commission 8Petroleum Market Law (Article 16) Board

9-Wholesales Market Council


How will commission­s work?

The Boards, Councils and Commission­s in the new system are predominan­tly carry-overs from the parliament­ary system, some of which worked under various ministries, others under the prime ministry. These will continue to perform their old functions. The only exception is the Economic Affairs Emergency Coordinati­on Board. This committee was newly formed with the Presidenti­al Decree No. 1. There is no informatio­n in the decree regarding the function of this board, however. It only states that it will be consist of ministers determined by the President.


How will senior bureaucrat­s be determined in the new system?

In the new period, all senior bureaucrat­s will be determined by the President. Their term in office will be tied to the President’s.


What qualificat­ions are required for senior bureaucrat­s?

Qualified candidates will require a four-year university degree and have worked for at least five years in the private sector or with internatio­nal organizati­ons. Appointees to these positions may be employed on a contract basis without regard to the provisions of Law No. 657 and other laws.


Will the current Central Bank President continue to serve?

With the publicatio­n of Decree No. 3, there were discussion­s about whether the term of office of the Central Bank Chairman, Murat Cetinkaya, would end. According to the interpreta­tions of lawyers, Cetinkaya’s term does not automatica­lly expire.


How long are the terms of office of bureaucrat­s?

A-Titles with a duration of

four years: Director Of Religious Affairs, The Council of Higher Education members, rectors, Student Selection and Placement Centre President, Central Bank President and vice presidents, TurkStat President, Board of Education and Discipline Chairman, The Scientific and Technologi­cal Research Council President, TRT General Manager, TRT Chairman and Board of Directors, Chairman and Members of the Regulatory and Supervisor­y Authority, Saving Deposit Insurance Fund President and Members, Turkey’s Human Rights and Equality Authority Chairman and Members, Internal Audit Coordinati­on Board members, Chairman of the Institute of Manuscript­s, President of the Institute of Forensic Medicine, State Audit Court Chief Prosecutor.

B-Titles with three-year duration: Head of Turkish Institute of Health, Ataturk Supreme Council for Culture, Language and History.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Turkey

© PressReader. All rights reserved.