Gulf News

Key con­stituen­cies in Te­lan­gana



Care­taker Chief Min­is­ter K Chan­drasekhar Rao is seek­ing re-elec­tion from Ga­jwel in Sid­pet dipet dis­trict, 70km away from Hy­der­abad. An in­ter­est­ing fight is on the cards with Van­teru Pratap Reddy of Congress led-Peo­ple’s Front play­ing David to the Go­liath of TRS.


If the Con­gressled Peo­ple’s Front comes to power in this elec­tion, the con­stituency in Suryapet dis­trict could very well be elect­ing a fu­ture chief min­is­ter. State Congress pres­i­dent Cap­tain N

Ut­tam Ku­mar Reddy is seek­ing re-elec­tion for the fifth time from here and is fac­ing S Saidi Reddy of TRS, an NRI.


The hand­loom hub with a pop­u­la­tion of 50,000 weavers is be­ing keenly watched as

K Taraka Rama Rao, son of KCR, is seek­ing re-elec­tion for third time. His main ri­val is K K Ma­hen­der Reddy of Congress. KTR, 42, who en­joys the sta­tus of the sec­ond most pow­er­ful man


State Congress work­ing pres­i­dent A Re­vanth

Reddy is seek­ing re­elec­tion for the third time from this con­stituency in Mahbubnaga­r dis­trict. He had won the seat in 2009 and 2014 as TDP can­di­date and served as party’s floor leader in as­sem­bly. TRS is go­ing all out to wrest the seat from him and has fielded Naren­dar Reddy against him.


A pow­er­ful leader of TRS and KCR’s nephew, state ir­ri­gation min­is­ter Har­ish Rao, is fac­ing N Bha­vani Reddy of Te­lan­gana Jana Samiti and is largely ex­pected to have a cake walk. He is seek­ing elec­tion for the sixth time, two be­ing by­polls.


This con­stituency in Hy­der­abad has a size­able pop­u­la­tion of Andhra mi­grants. TDP has fielded Nan­damuri Suhasini, grand­daugh­ter of party founder NT Rama Rao. M Krishna Rao of TDP won the seat in 2014 but he later de­fected to TRS and is seek­ing re-elec­tion on TRS ticket.

 ??  ??
 ??  ??
 ??  ??
 ??  ??
 ??  ??
 ??  ??

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UAE