Face­book pri­vacy bug ex­poses pho­tos

Amateur Photographer - - 7 Days -

THE YEAR 2018 was one to for­get for Face­book, with the so­cial me­dia gi­ant ex­co­ri­ated for sell­ing user data to con­tro­ver­sial com­pa­nies such as Cam­bridge An­a­lyt­ica, be­ing lax about se­cu­rity, and al­legedly turn­ing a blind eye to hate speech and cy­ber-bul­ly­ing all over the world. To round off this an­nus hor­ri­bilis, Face­book has ad­mit­ted that a re­cent bug meant that as many as 6.8 mil­lion user pho­tos could be ac­cessed by third-party app de­vel­op­ers be­tween 13 and 25 Septem­ber – in­clud­ing im­ages that users never in­tended to share pub­licly. In other words, if you gave an app or pro­gram per­mis­sion to ac­cess your pho­tos it could see ev­ery­thing dur­ing this pe­riod, in­clud­ing pic­tures you chose not to post for var­i­ous rea­sons.

Have you been af­fected?

Face­book has now fixed the bug and re­leased a state­ment on its Help pages. ‘ The is­sue we fixed is re­lated to how apps use our API to ac­cess your time­line pho­tos af­ter you’ve given them per­mis­sion to do so and isn’t re­lated to your post pri­vacy set­tings. We’re sorry this hap­pened and we’re in­struct­ing de­vel­op­ers to delete the pho­tos. De­vel­op­ers will then be able to ob­tain ac­cess to the set of pho­tos which would nor­mally have been shared. We rec­om­mend log­ging into any apps where you’ve shared your Face­book pho­tos to check which pho­tos they have ac­cess to.’ Log­ging on to the Face­book help sec­tion at bit.ly/ face­book photo gl­itch will en­able you to see whether your pho­tos were af­fected by this lat­est pri­vacy headache.

App de­vel­op­ers were able to see all the pho­tos of some Face­book users, even ones not shared

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.