Vol­un­teer win­ners at the Eng­land Athletics Awards

Athletics Weekly - - News -


Spirit of 2012 award

Brack­nell AC Game Chang­ers

Spirit of 2012 award: Brack­nell AC Game Chang­ers

Brack­nell AC Game Chang­ers are a group of young peo­ple who have all be­come qual­i­fied coach­ing as­sis­tants, many have done dis­abil­ity in­clu­sion train­ing, some have even com­pleted a Cere­bral Palsy lead­er­ship work­shop.

In­clu­sion award

Adam Thomas

Thomas has grown S-Fac­tor Academy’s dis­abil­ity group from one leader and five ath­letes to more than 10 qual­i­fied helpers and 100 unique par­tic­i­pants.

Athletics or run­ning club of the year

Orion Har­ri­ers

Orion Har­ri­ers of­fer lead­er­ship op­por­tu­ni­ties to young coaches and of­fi­cials. In­di­vid­u­als from low-in­come back­grounds can ac­cess sub­sidised or free ses­sions and re­sources.

Coach of the year

Jan­ice Kauf­man

Kauf­man has coached ath­letes to the top level and sup­ports lo­cal coaches.

RunTo­gether Group of 2018

Mind & Sole Sup­port­ing run­ners from all back­grounds, they spe­cialise in help­ing those who strug­gle with their men­tal health.

RunTo­gether leader

Danielle Guy

Guy used the £1 charge she used to put on her runs to fund keen in­di­vid­u­als through their Run Leader train­ing.

She now has a com­mit­tee be­hind the group to sup­port its de­vel­op­ment.

Vol­un­teer of 2018

Lawrence Wade

Wade ful­fils many roles, or­gan­is­ing com­pe­ti­tions for City of Nor­wich, and has es­tab­lished a sys­tem for vi­sion im­paired run­ners and guide run­ners.

Young vol­un­teer

Re­becca Pickard

Pickard is a mem­ber of the Eng­land Athletics youth panel and an event group sprints and hur­dles coach. She is also a qual­i­fied photo fin­ish and field of­fi­cial.

Of­fi­cial of the year

Lynne Marr

A highly-re­spected of­fi­cial based in the North East of Eng­land, Marr is also an of­fi­cials men­tor.

Ser­vices to athletics or run­ning

John How­ley

How­ley’s im­pact on the race walk­ing com­mu­nity has been un­par­al­leled, rais­ing the pro­file of the dis­ci­pline in York­shire and Hum­ber­side.

Dave Crop­per award

The 800m awards to com­mem­o­rate the ser­vice that Crop­per gave over many years were pre­sented to Max Bur­gin and Keely Hodgkin­son.

Ron Pick­er­ing Me­mo­rial Fund ath­letes of the year

U23: Laviai Neilsen U20: Ni­amh Emer­son U18: Sam Ben­nett

David Sun­der­land me­mo­rial bur­sary

This year’s re­cip­i­ent is

He­len Clitheroe, the former in­ter­na­tional ath­lete who now coaches en­durance run­ners from un­der-20 level through to vet­er­ans at Pre­ston Har­ri­ers. She was re­cently part of the Eng­land en­durance team at the Com­mon­wealth Games.

Eng­land Athletics vol­un­teeraward win­ners for 2018

He­len Clitheroe re­ceives the Dave Sun­der­land bur­sary from Andy Day

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.