As well as fin­ish­ing a strong 15th in the over­all fi­nal, Cal­lum Grant also won the Pre-’93 fi­nal in his Van Diemen RF91.

Grant, who nor­mally races a Mer­lyn Mk20, fin­ished 12 sec­onds ahead of Richard Tarling, de­spite only hav­ing driven the car a hand­ful of times be­fore the race. Tarling, in his re­cently ac­quired Ja­mun M92, made a su­perb re­cov­ery drive af­ter drop­ping to the back of the pack from sec­ond on the grid. He had strug­gled for grip off the start­line and had con­tact at the first cor­ner.

Fur­ther back, Pirelli en­gi­neer Doug Cros­bie’s Van Diemen RF89 fol­lowed Tarling past a scrap­ping Jaap Bli­jleven (Rey­nard 89FF) and Ni­co­las Beloou (Van Diemen RF91). Cros­bie had qual­i­fied fourth but was ini­tially passed by the fly­ing Bli­jleven and Beloou.

The Pre-’82 fi­nal re­sulted in an­other dom­i­nant win, this time for Ed Thurston – it was Thurston’s first time out in a Mer­lyn MK20A, run by Clas­sic Team Mer­lyn. He was fol­lowed closely by Mark Arm­strong in a Van Diemen RF80 but the Ir­ish­man was un­able to get within pass­ing range. Rick Mor­ris was third, 7s be­hind, hav­ing not quite kept in touch with the front two in his patched-up Royale RP29.

Vic Nut­ter won the HSCC Closed Wheel All­com­ers race, cap­i­tal­is­ing on erst­while leader David Wale miss­ing a gear in his Mal­lock to sneak his Osella PA3 into the lead on the penul­ti­mate lap. Nathalie Mc­gloin (Porsche Cay­man) won the BWRDC Ladies’ race on scratch af­ter a spir­ited bat­tle with Katie Mil­ner’s Ginetta. Mil­ner won on hand­i­cap.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.