Brit­car changes for­mat


The for­mat of the Brit­car En­durance Cham­pi­onship will change next year as the se­ries re­verts to two one-hour races.

For the past two sea­sons Brit­car has taken the form of two cham­pi­onships rac­ing con­cur­rently. The En­durance cat­e­gory had one 50-minute race and one two-hour race, while con­tenders in the Sprint cat­e­gory ran in the same events but took the che­quered flag after 50 min­utes of the two-hour race.

The pack­age will now com­prise just one cham­pi­onship cat­e­gory.

“Brit­car has been lis­ten­ing to what the cus­tomer wants,” said cham­pi­onship co-or­di­na­tor Claire Hed­ley. “We plan to have a cheaper price-per-minute of rac­ing, it will be less than this year.

“We want to make sure we’re of­fer­ing a bet­ter pack­age.”

The pro­vi­sional eight-round cal­en­dar con­sists of Sil­ver­stone – on both the In­ter­na­tional and Grand Prix lay­outs – Don­ing­ton Park, Snet­ter­ton, Oul­ton Park (two rounds), and two vis­its to Brands Hatch. The fi­nal round will be at Brands for the Into the Night Races across two days, with the fi­nal race on Sun­day last­ing two hours.

Reign­ing Brit­car En­durance cham­pion Sarah Moore has con­firmed she will re­turn to de­fend her crown next sea­son. Moore be­came the first fe­male to win the ti­tle after rac­ing for her fam­ily team Tock­with Mo­tor­sport along­side rookie Matt Green­wood.

Moore will re­turn next year to de­fend ti­tle

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.