All the 2018 win­ners you voted for

Autosport (UK) - - CONTENTS -

The 20th an­niver­sary of Mika Hakki­nen storm­ing to the first of two For­mula 1 world ti­tles was hon­oured at the 37th Au­tosport Awards at Grosvenor House on Park Lane last Sun­day. He re­ceived the Gre­gor Grant Award for life­time achieve­ment, as did six-time Le Mans win­ner Jacky Ickx in recog­ni­tion of a ca­reer span­ning five decades.

But as mo­tor­sport le­gends and lega­cies were hon­oured, the evening cli­maxed with a cel­e­bra­tion of Bri­tain’s next gen­er­a­tion of su­per­stars. Tom Gam­ble was show­ered in con­fetti when he was re­vealed as the 30th re­cip­i­ent of the pres­ti­gious Mclaren Au­tosport BRDC Award, which has launched the ca­reers of Jen­son But­ton, David Coulthard, Dario Fran­chitti,

Paul di Resta, Lando Nor­ris and Ge­orge Rus­sell. Au­tosport read­ers voted Lewis Hamil­ton as both their In­ter­na­tional and Bri­tish Com­pe­ti­tion Driver of the Year, while Se­bastien Ogier col­lected his sixth Award to match his six

World Rally cham­pi­onships. Mo­togp’s un­stop­pable force Marc Mar­quez con­tin­ued his clean sweep of Rider hon­ours and in­jured Indy­car rookie sen­sa­tion Robert Wick­ens made an ap­pear­ance on the big screen.

The cer­e­mony, pre­sented by Sky Sports F1 com­men­ta­tor David Croft and For­mula E pit­lane re­porter Nicki Shields, was watched by the rac­ing world’s top brass, in­clud­ing Jean Todt, Chase Carey, Sean Bratches and Ale­jan­dro Agag. They had front-row seats as Mercedes F1 boss Toto Wolff took to the stage in tar­tan, and over­takes on Ri­cardo Zonta were re-en­acted by Hakki­nen and Mar­tin Brun­dle…

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.