30 years of Mclaren Autosport


After help­ing to crown 30 Mclaren Autosport BRDC Award win­ners, the fa­mous For­mula 1 team will no longer be in­volved, but it has left a fine legacy

For 30 years, the Mclaren Autosport BRDC Award has searched for the next Bri­tish For­mula 1 star. Mclaren will no longer be part of the Award from 2019, so now is the right time to look back at the past three decades with the win­ners.

Autosport’s Peter Foubis­ter and then-mclaren boss Ron Den­nis in­tro­duced the Award in 1989. David Coulthard was the in­au­gu­ral vic­tor and since then win­ners have racked up more than 600 F1 starts, an F1 world ti­tle, a World En­durance crown, three DTM ti­tles and three In­di­anapo­lis 500 wins, to name just some of the head­line-grab­bing suc­cesses.

From the start a key part of the prize was a test in a Mclaren F1 car, giv­ing young tal­ents their first taste of the pin­na­cle of the sport. Over the years Mclaren has also been in­volved in other parts of the process, from con­duct­ing fit­ness tests to pro­vid­ing data anal­y­sis.

The Award’s new part­ner will be an­nounced very soon, but be­fore then Autosport and the Bri­tish Rac­ing Driv­ers’ Club would like to thank Mclaren for its in­cred­i­ble com­mit­ment over such a long pe­riod.

Here is our cel­e­bra­tion of the 30 win­ners.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.