Cir­cuit to host spe­cial Race of Re­mem­brance

Bangor Mail - - NEWS - League Web­site: www.ajfl.

U12: Gaerwen 10 (Szy­mon Tuszko, Tyler Jones, Dion Jones, Dy­lan Jones, Sam Smith, Ben

RSmith, To­mos Wil­liams, Dy­lan Grif­fith, Kyle Jones) Llangefni Cava­liers 0.

U14 Paul Broad­head Me­mo­rial Shield – First Round: Llanfair Teigrod 6 ( Jos­eff Mor­gan 2, Noa Wil­liams, Cai Mor­gan, Cai ETURNING to An­gle­sey Cir­cuit for the fifth year, big­ger and bet­ter than ever be­fore, is Mis­sion Mo­tor­sport’s unique Race of Re­mem­brance.

The event fea­tures 50 teams rac­ing in a 12-hour en­durance race which in­cludes rac­ing into the night on Satur­day, fol­lowed by a He­roes Din­ner.

Rac­ing restarts on Sun­day morn­ing, but the track will fall silent as the race pauses to hold a spe­cial Re­mem­brance Ser­vice in the pit-lane, mark­ing 100 years since the end of the First World War.

Rac­ing will then con­tinue un­til a race dis­tance of 1,000km has been cov­ered.

The Race of Re­mem­brance is the an­nual en­durance event run by Mis­sion Mo­tor­sport. This year will be the fifth run­ning of the show­piece.

Although pri­mar­ily a ‘club­man’ event, the Race of Re­mem­brance at­tracts a di­verse crowd of rac­ers, from novices to ex­perts.

Mis­sion Mo­tor­sport ben­e­fi­cia­ries play a huge part in the event; or­gan­is­ing, plan­ning, pro­vid­ing, rac­ing, span­ner­ing (slang for any form of me­chan­i­cal work on a ve­hi­cle) and cov­er­ing the ac­tion.

The Race of Re­mem­brance is a Re­mem­brance Ser­vice with a race at­tached, not the other way around. The en­tire fo­cus is on the pit-lane ser­vice at 11am on Sun­day.

At 10.40am on Sun­day, the race is halted by the Safety Car and all driv­ers re­turn to be parked on the start/fin­ish line in or­der. The Re­mem­brance Ser­vice is held in the pit-lane di­rectly below race con­trol. Fol­low­ing the ser­vice, the race will be restarted at 11.20am and con­tinue to the fin­ish. The ser­vice is open to all, re­gard­less of whether you are com­pet­ing in the event. Lewis, own goal) Trearddur Bay 1.

U14 League: Llangefni Town Blues 10 (Al­fie Dodds 4, Eban Wil­liams 3, Rho­dri Jones, Con­nor Owen, Cai McGuigan) Holy­head B 0.

U16 League: Gaerwen 1 (Alex May­all) Holy­head Hot­spur B 2 (Liam Tay­lor, Ben Heben­streit); CPD Llangefni 10 (Harry Jones 3, Guto Jones 2, James Lewis, Ben Jones, Wil­liam Hughes 2, Jack Ed­wards) Teirw Llan­fair­p­wll 0; Lle­wod Llan­fair­p­wll 0 Llan­goed 8 (Tom Zalot 4, Tom Roberts, Sam Greg­son, Leo Bar­den).

Mis­sion Mo­tor­sport’s unique Race of Re­mem­brance will take place this week­end at the An­gle­sey Cir­cuit

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.