Beethoven • Mozart

BBC Music Magazine - - Concerto -

Beethoven: Pi­ano Con­certo No. 4 (ca­denza Har­bi­son); Mozart: Pi­ano Con­certo No. 14 in E flat, K449; Fan­ta­sia in C mi­nor;

Har­bi­son: An­niver­sary Waltz

David De­veau (pi­ano); Jes­sica Bod­ner (vi­ola), Thomas van Dyck (dou­ble bass), Bor­romeo String Quar­tet Stein­way & Sons 30099 65:09 mins

The four small, per­fectly formed pi­ano con­cer­tos Mozart com­posed be­tween K413 and K449 are peren­nial de­lights. In their cham­ber ver­sions, the play­ers’ con­ver­sa­tional ex­changes and the blend of their tim­bres achieve a spe­cial, in­ti­mate at­mos­phere: the E flat Con­certo K449 with its ex­pres­sive slow move­ment fares par­tic­u­larly well. Beethoven’s Fourth Con­certo, though, of­fers a dif­fer­ent con­cept of soloist-orches­tra in­ter­ac­tion. De­spite the clar­ity of tex­ture here, the work feels di­min­ished without its or­ches­tral sonori­ties, even with vi­ola and dou­ble bass added to the quar­tet ensem­ble. The ca­denza by John ★ar­bi­son presents a re­fresh­ing take on the ma­te­rial, but I sus­pect it’s un­likely to be­come part of any cham­ber mu­sic sta­ple diet.

David De­veau plays with a limpid touch, nat­u­ral sense of flow and deep feel­ing. There is plenty of ge­nial ensem­ble playing, though with some rather acidic in­to­na­tion among the strings. The two short pi­ano so­los that com­plete the disc are wel­come rar­i­ties: the ★ar­bi­son An­niver­sary Waltz oozes charm, and the Mozart C mi­nor Fan­ta­sia K396 is con­cen­trated, lyri­cal and beau­ti­fully bal­anced by De­veau. Jes­sica Duchen PER­FOR­MANCE ★★★ RECORD­ING ★★★★

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.