Fast foot into2018

Lo­cal boys and girls come out on top in races

Blairgowrie Advertiser - - THE BACK PAGE - Clare Damodaran

Blair­gowrie’s New Year’s Day Fun Run and Walk on Mon­day at­tracted over 400 par­tic­i­pants from across the UK and has been hailed by or­gan­is­ers as an­other big suc­cess.

Around 240 run­ners and 170 walk­ers took part in the event, rel­ish­ing the chance to start the new year in an en­er­getic fash­ion - in­clud­ing the McLean and Stra­chan fam­i­lies (pic­tured here).

Blair­gowrie’s an­nual New Year’s Day Fun Run and Walk at­tracted a num­ber of par­tic­i­pants from across Scot­land – with lo­cal win­ners in the boys and girls races.

In to­tal, there were 119 com­peti­tors in the mens race and 83 com­peti­tors in the ladie’ race, as well as 10 com­peti­tors in the girls race, and 24 in the boys.

This year the mens race was won by Euan Rose from Glas­gow Uni­ver­sity in a time of 20 min­utes 47 sec­onds. In se­cond place was Robert Harrison from Rat­tray, a mem­ber of Moni­fi­eth Triathlon Club, in a time of 21 min­utes 38 sec­onds, and in third place was Fraser Matthews from Blair­gowrie - the win­ner of the boys race last year - who fin­ished in a time of 22 min­utes 27 sec­onds in his first year in the mens’ race.

In the ladies race, the win­ner was Chantel Clark from Dundee who com­pleted the route in a time of 25 min­utes and 25 sec­onds.

Se­cond place went to Kirsty Reynolds who runs with Dundee Hawkhill Har­ri­ers and fin­ished in 26 min­utes and 26 sec­onds, while in third place, was fel­low Dundee Hawkhill run­ner Amy Mol­li­son in 27 min­utes 23 sec­onds.

In the boys race, the Matthews boys con­tin­ued their dom­i­nance with Ross Matthews win­ning in a time of 26 min­utes 35 sec­onds, and in the girls race Emily Gil­more from Blair­gowrie made it two in a row fin­ish­ing in first place for the se­cond year run­ning.

Her time this year was 36 min­utes 25 sec­onds.

A num­ber of run­ning clubs were rep­re­sented at the event, in­clud­ing Perth Road Run­ners, Dundee Road Run­ners, Dundee Hawkhill Har­ri­ers, For­far Road Run­ners, Fife Ath­let­ics Club, Perth Triathlon Club, Five Star Ac­tive, Ve­gan Run­ners UK, Falk­land Trail Run­ners, and Dun­blane Run­ners.

Men’s Re­sults:

1 Euan Rose (Glas­gow Uni­ver­sity) 20m47s; 2 Robert Harrison (Moni­fi­eth Triathlon Club) 21m38s; 3 Fraser Matthews (Blair­gowrie) 22m27s; 4 Dun­can Ryan (Perth Road Run­ners) 22m29s; 5 Gra­ham Brown (Dundee Road Run­ners) 22m50s; 6 Javier Perez Cuevas (Rat­tray) 23m24s; 7 Kevin Rid­dell (Perth) 23m30s; 8 An­thony Cude (Norfolk) 23m45s; 9 Alan Welsh (For­far Road Run­ner) 24m06s; 10 Steven Dick (Ar­broath) 24m34s.

Women’s Re­sults:

1 Chantel Clark (Dundee) 25m25s; 2 Kirsty Reynolds (Dundee Hawkhill Har­ri­ers) 26m26s; 3 Amy Mol­li­son (Dundee Hawkhill Har­ri­ers) 27m23; 4 Mandy Scott (Perth) 28m6s; 5 Eilidh Reynolds (Dundee) 28m39s; 6 Erin Hamil­ton (Scone) 28m57s, 7 Angie Macken­zie (For­far Road Run­ners) 29m3s; 8 Deb­o­rah Ken­ward (For­far Road Run­ners) 29m24s; Marti Red­ford (Ve­gan Run­ners) 29s28s; 10 Donna Pass (For­far Road Run­ners) 29m48s.

Top trio The first three male run­ners, from left, Euan Rose, Robert Harrison from Rat­tray and Fraser Matthews from Blair­gowrie

Ready for the off Ross, Fraser and Kieran Matthews and Rory Clark

Big crowd There was a good turnout for the 34th an­nual event

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.