Girl power

Chat - - Contents -

Sit­ting down in the kitchen, I took a deep breath and looked at my girl­friend, Ni­cola, 26.

It was June 2001 and I had a con­fes­sion to make.

‘I’m trans­gen­der,’ I sud­denly blurted out.

If she was shocked, she didn’t show it. With­out hes­i­ta­tion, she gave me the big­gest cud­dle.

At 6ft 4in, with a body­builder’s physique, I worked as a per­sonal trainer.

Typ­i­cal al­pha male...

‘I’m still madly in love with you,’ I said. ‘Noth­ing will ever change that.’

‘I’m glad you were hon­est. I’ll al­ways sup­port you,’ Ni­cola said.

As we squeezed each other tightly, relief washed over me.

For as long as I could re­mem­ber, I’d known I was dif­fer­ent. In more ways than one. Not only had I felt a deep con­nec­tion with spir­its, but I felt trapped in the wrong body. A man’s body... I’d never told a soul. But I loved Ni­cola, and af­ter a happy six months to­gether, I trusted her.

Some­thing told me she’d ac­cept me, no mat­ter what. So I’d come clean. And she never let me down.

It was Ni­cola who en­cour­aged me to start hor­mone re­place­ment ther­apy, then go un­der the knife in 2003 to soften my mas­cu­line looks.

Sur­geons spent 12 hours trans­form­ing my nose, eyes and cheek­bones, plus in­serted 18 screws and four metal plates in my jaw.

A dra­matic change, but I was thrilled with the re­sults.

Af­ter Ni­cola and I tied the

Becs Sawyer, 59, Es­sex I was a per­sonal trainer. Typ­i­cal al­pha male When I fi­nally ac­cepted who I re­ally was, a whole new world came call­ing...

knot in Fe­bru­ary 2006, the ef­fects of the med­i­ca­tion grad­u­ally be­gan to show.

It took two years, but my chest grew to a perky B-cup.

Then I had laser hair re­moval to get rid of my stub­ble.

Thank­fully, I’d never had a prom­i­nent Adam’s ap­ple.

Then, in March 2008, I of­fi­cially changed my name by deed poll to Re­becca.