Ramblers take old route to Holy Island
On the move view to converting the pagan Angles and Saxons.
The community flourished until the arrival of Viking raiders in 793.
Duncanrig ramblers had a choice of two routes across to the island.
The modern causeway is cut off twice a day by the tide. One group took this route and were able to enjoy time exploring the priory and some village shops before returning over the causeway.
The other group followed the original route over the sands that the monks and pilgrims have used for over 1300 years.
They followed a pole line over the sands. The old route also has a refuge about halfway across for anyone who gets the tide timings wrong.
After the sand the walkers entered the village and went on to the east coast of the island, passing the old castle and on to the priory and heritage centre before returning to the coach via the causeway.
Both groups enjoyed their social time in Berwick-uponTweed.
The next walks are this Sunday in Galashiels, Scottish Borders. New members are welcome.
Visit www.duncanrig.com for details of all club activities.
Ready to leave the village
Picturesque Bamburgh Castle in the background