Aqua­cul­ture Awards

Scot­tish Sea Farms scores hat-trick in Dy­namic prize night

Fish Farmer - - Contents – Editor’s Welcome -

All the win­ners

IT was Scot­tish Sea Farms’ night at the Aqua­cul­ture Awards 2019, with the com­pany pick­ing up three cov­eted prizes at a spe­cial cer­e­mony in Ed­in­burgh on May 29. And the even­ing also saw Fish Farmer’s Wil­liam Dowds re­ceive spe­cial recog­ni­tion for his con­tri­bu­tion to aqua­cul­ture, as his friends in the in­dus­try cheered on at the event, held in Dy­namic Earth.

First up for Scot­tish Sea Farms (SSF) was the Ap­plied Re­search Break­through award, which the com­pany shared with Mowi, BioMar, the In­sti­tute of Aqua­cul­ture at Stir­ling and SAIC (Scot­tish Aqua­cul­ture In­no­va­tion Cen­tre) for a joint cleaner fish project.

This suc­cess­fully closed the cy­cle for cap­tive bal­lan wrasse breed­ing for the first time, at Machri­han­ish hatch­ery on Scot­land’s west coast.

Scot­tish Sea Farms also scooped the Di­ver­sity award, pre­sented to the em­ployer that has done the most to pro­mote di­ver­sity in the work place.

The salmon farmer has en­cour­aged in­creas­ing num­bers of women to reach se­nior roles in the com­pany.

And SSF re­gional man­ager Richard Dar­byshire was named the Peo­ple’s Choice win­ner, cho­sen by his in­dus­try peers and beat­ing com­pe­ti­tion from Ace Aquatec’s Nathan Pyne-Carter, among oth­ers.

Left: Camp­bell Morrison of spon­sor Europharma pre­sents SSF’s Richard Dar­byshire with his Peo­ple’s Choice award. Op­po­site - clockwise from top: Rob Fletcher of the Fish Site pays trib­ute to in­dus­try champ Wil­liam Dowds; Martin Gill of Lloyd’s Regis­ter with the Ap­plied Re­search Break­through win­ners (left to right) Ralph Bick­erdike of SSF, Paddy Camp­bell of BioMar, Gideon Pringle of Mowi, and Stir­ling’s Herve Mi­gaud; Nathan PyneCarter of Ace Aquatec; guests at the Dy­namic Earth event; Mowi boss Ben Had­field with Tech­ni­cal In­no­va­tion prize win­ners Va­lerie Robitaille and Mikael Le­feb­vre of XpertSea. All pic­tures: An­gus Black­burn

Clockwise from above: SFF’s head of hu­man re­sources Tracy Bryan­tShaw (left), Emma Ley­den and Clare Scott are awarded the Di­ver­sity prize by Bob Fowler and Robin Shields of spon­sor SAIC; Clara McGhee of Mowi was named Most Promis­ing New En­trant; a rep­re­sen­ta­tive from Cargill col­lects Hatch’s In­ter­na­tional Im­pact award from Paddy Camp­bell

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.