Of­fi­cials recog­nised at awards evening

Gloucestershire Echo - - CRICKET -


THE Glouces­ter­shire As­so­ci­a­tion of Cricket Um­pires & Scor­ers pre­sented its an­nual awards at their pre-sea­son sem­i­nar.

Kevin Lan­g­ley, chair­man of the Glouces­ter­shire Cricket Board, be­gan by pre­sent­ing the Denys Tay­lor Train­ing Award, which was won jointly by Paul Hath­away and Karl Shep­herd.

The Glouces­ter­shire County Cricket League Um­pire of the Year, based on GCCL cap­tains’ scores, was Phil Mat­tin­g­ley.

Craig Blake­way was the de­served win­ner of the Progress Award for Um­pir­ing while Ian Wright re­ceived a rous­ing re­cep­tion as the win­ner of the Cliff Mitchell Shield for Um­pire of the Year – de­served recog­ni­tion for a very pop­u­lar and hugely respected of­fi­cial.

The Derek Hibbs Award for Scorer of the Year, spon­sored by Cotswold Ma­chin­ery Sales Ltd, was split four ways for the first time ever, with Clare New­man of Poul­ton CC, Tony Lewis of Hather­ley & Reddings CC, Derek Mont­gomery of Glouces­ter CC and Phil Lewis of Lyd­ney CC lead­ing the way from a nom­i­na­tion list of more than 20 scor­ers.

The win­ners - Top left, Ian Wright (Um­pire of the Year). Top right, Scor­ers: Tony Lewis (Hather­ley & Reddings), Derek Mont­gomery (Glouces­ter); Phil Lewis (Lyd­ney) and Clare New­man (Poul­ton). Bot­tom left, Phil Mat­tin­g­ley (GCCL Um­pire of the Year). Mid­dle bot­tom, Craig Blake­way (Progress Award). Bot­tom right, Karl Shep­herd (Train­ing Award)

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.