THE RULES EV­ERY GOLFER SHOULD KNOW

Drop­ping and re-drop­ping – Rule 20-2

Golf Monthly - - Green Book -

Once you have dropped the ball cor­rectly, Rule 20-2c then cov­ers a num­ber of other in­stances in which you are also re­quired to a re-drop, among them when your ball: (i) rolls into and comes to rest in a hazard; (ii) rolls out of and comes to rest out­side a hazard; (iii) rolls onto and comes to rest on a putting green and (iv) rolls and comes to rest out of bounds.

But per­haps the one that is most mis­un­der­stood among the re­main­ing three sub-clauses is Rule 20-2-c(vi). This states that the ball must be re-dropped with­out penalty when it “rolls and comes to rest more than two club-lengths from where it first struck a part of the course.”

What this means is that you don’t re-drop just be­cause your ball has come to rest beyond the tee peg that you put down to mark the ex­tent of the avail­able drop­ping area. The If your ball comes to rest more than two clublengths from where it first struck a part of the course, you must re-drop pur­pose of such a marker – which is not com­pul­sory, but rec­om­mended – is merely to high­light where the ball must first strike a part of the course.

Once dropped, pro­vided all the other con­di­tions of Rule 20-2c have been met and the ball has not rolled nearer the hole, you are only re­quired to re-drop if the ball comes to rest more than two club-lengths from where it first struck a part of the course.

Next time you spy some­one about to pick their ball up and re-drop when it has rolled beyond their tee-peg marker, but not beyond two clublengths from where it first struck a part of the course, step in. This will pre­vent them in­cur­ring ei­ther a one-stroke penalty un­der Rule 18-2 for mov­ing their ball in play, or a two-stroke penalty un­der Rule 1-2 if the ball is still mov­ing (tak­ing an ac­tion to in­flu­ence the move­ment of the ball).

n most rounds of golf you play, you will prob­a­bly have to take a drop at some stage – ei­ther as free re­lief from a cer­tain in­ter­fer­ing con­di­tion or as a penalty drop for a ball you have per­haps hit into a wa­ter hazard.

Rule 20-2 cov­ers a full two pages in the lat­est book, and while there isn’t space to go into the full de­tails here, there are a few things that some golfers do get wrong or don’t quite un­der­stand about var­i­ous el­e­ments of the process.

Firstly, if you drop your ball and it touches any per­son, or the equip­ment of any player ei­ther be­fore or af­ter it strikes a part of the course and comes to rest, you must re-drop with­out penalty un­der Rule 20-2a. If your dropped ball rolls against your trol­ley or a leg of your stand­bag, don’t panic!

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.