Alan and Ken win an­nual me­mo­rial cup

Leek Post & Times - - SPORT -

LEEK Bowl­ing Club staged the an­nual Roger Smith com­pe­ti­tion and was won by he pair­ing of Ken Weir and Alan Franklin.

The tro­phy is com­peted for each Christ­mas by mem­bers of the club. Pair­ings are se­lected on a ran­dom ba­sis and there are pre­lim­i­nary fix­tures lead­ing to a group of eight quar­ter-fi­nal pairs.

Fi­nals day con­sisted of eight quar­ter-fi­nal matches, two semi­fi­nals and the fi­nal, fol­lowed by a buf­fet.

Ken and Alan won the fi­nal 10-9 against Dave Stephen­son and Tony Matthews. The match had looked to be go­ing in fav our of Dave and Tony, but mid­way through the match, the ta­bles turned and the scores were level on the last end at 9-9.

Dave and Tony were sit­ting in a win­ning po­si­tion, but the penul­ti­mate bowl nudged Ken and Alan to vic­tory.

Re­sults. Quar­ter-fi­nals: A Franklin/k Weir 12, M Wil­liams/th­ague 5; K Walker/m Perkin 4, H Need­ham/m Wedg­wood

15; J Bai­ley/g Smith 5, D Stephen­son/t Matthews 12; B James/j Smith 9, C Plant/l Walker 8.

Semi-fi­nals: A Franklin/k Weir 11, H Need­ham/m Wedg­wood 6; D Stephen­son/t Matthews 11, B James/j Smith 5.

Fi­nal: A Franklin/k Weir 10, D

Stephen­son/t Matthews 9.

Mavis Smith pre­sents the Roger Smith Tro­phy to Leek Bowl­ing Club mem­bers Alan Franklin, left, and Ken Weir.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.